الاقوياء الطبيعية

لماذا 90 دقائق في الطبيعة يغير حقا الدماغ

لماذا 90 دقائق في الطبيعة يغير حقا الدماغ

وجدت دراسة جديدة دليلا للقياس الكمي أن المشي في الطبيعة يمكن أن تؤدي إلى انخفاض خطر الاصابة بالاكتئاب.

على وجه التحديد، وجدت الدراسة أن الناس الذين ساروا ل90 دقائق في منطقة طبيعية، بدلا من المشاركين الذين ساروا في المناطق الحضرية حركة المرور العالية، أظهرت انخفاض النشاط في منطقة الدماغ المرتبطة عاملا رئيسيا في الاكتئاب.

"هذه النتائج تشير إلى أن المناطق الطبيعية يمكن الوصول إليها قد تكون حيوية للصحة النفسية في عالمنا سريعة النمو الحضري"، كما يقول المؤلف المشارك غريتشن يوميا، أستاذ في العلوم البيئية، وهو زميل أقدم في معهد ستانفورد وودز للبيئة.

"النتائج التي توصلنا إليها يمكن أن تساعد في إعلام حركة متنامية في جميع أنحاء العالم لجعل المدن أكثر ملائمة للعيش، وجعل الطبيعة في متناول كل الذين يعيشون فيها."

سكان المدينة

يعيش أكثر من نصف سكان العالم في المناطق الحضرية، والتي من المتوقع أن ترتفع إلى 70 في المئة في غضون بضعة عقود. التحضر وفصل من الطبيعة قد نمت بشكل كبير، وكذلك الاضطرابات النفسية مثل الاكتئاب.

في الواقع، وسكان المدينة لديهم خطر أعلى 40 في المئة من اضطرابات القلق، وارتفاع خطر على 20 في المئة من اضطرابات المزاج بالمقارنة مع الناس في المناطق الريفية. الأشخاص الذين ولدوا ونشأوا في المدن هم أكثر احتمالا بمعدل الضعف لتطوير الفصام.

والتعرض لطبيعة ترتبط الصحة النفسية؟ إذا كان الأمر كذلك، طلب الباحثون، ما هي التأثيرات الطبيعة على العاطفة والمزاج؟ يمكن التعرض لطبيعة تساعد "العازلة" ضد الاكتئاب؟

في الطبيعة أو بواسطة الطريق السريع

وكما ورد في وقائع الاكاديمية الوطنية للعلوم، مجموعتين من المشاركين مشى ل90 دقيقة، واحدة في منطقة المراعي المنتشرة بأشجار البلوط والشجيرات، والآخر على طول أربع حارات الطريق-حركة المرور الكثيفة. قبل وبعد، قام الباحثون بقياس القلب والتنفس اسعار، مسح الدماغ، وتعين على المشاركين ملء استبيانات.

ووجد الباحثون اختلاف بسيط في الظروف الفسيولوجية، ولكن شهد تغيرات في الدماغ. النشاط العصبي في القشرة قبل الجبهية subgenual، وهي منطقة الدماغ النشطة خلال الفكر اجترار المتكررة التي تركز على السلبية العواطف انخفض فيما بين المشاركين الذين ساروا في طبيعة مقابل أولئك الذين ساروا في بيئة حضرية.

"هذا الاكتشاف مثير لأنه يدل على تأثير طبيعة التجربة على جانب من العاطفة التنظيم شيء ربما تساعد في تفسير كيف طبيعة يجعلنا يشعر على نحو أفضل"، كما يقول المؤلف الرئيسي غريغوري Bratman، وهو طالب دراسات عليا في برنامج متعدد التخصصات ايميت ستانفورد في البيئة و الموارد، وستانفورد علم النفس الفسيولوجي مختبر ومركز بيولوجيا الحفظ.

"هذه النتائج مهمة لأنها تتسق مع، ولكن لا تثبت بعد، وجود علاقة سببية بين زيادة التحضر وزيادة معدلات المرض العقلي"، كما يقول المؤلف المشارك جيمس غروس، أستاذ علم النفس في جامعة ستانفورد.

ومن الضروري لمخططي المدن وصانعي السياسات الأخرى لفهم العلاقة بين التعرض للطبيعة والصحة النفسية، واضعو الدراسة الكتابة. واضاف "نريد لاستكشاف ما هي عناصر الطبيعة مقدار ما وأنواع الخبرات تقديم أكبر قدر من الفوائد"، ويقول اليومية.

في دراسة سابقة، أدى أيضا Bratman، تم العثور على الوقت في الطبيعة أن يكون لها تأثير إيجابي على المزاج وجوانب الوظيفة المعرفية، بما في ذلك الذاكرة العاملة، فضلا عن تأثير مثبط على القلق.

الدراسات هي جزء من مجموعة متزايدة من البحوث استكشاف العلاقة بين الطبيعة ورفاه الإنسان.

تركز رأس مال المشروع الطبيعية، من خلال ديلي أدى، على قياس قيمة الموارد الطبيعية للجمهور وتوقع الفوائد من الاستثمارات في الطبيعة. وهو مشروع مشترك بين معهد ستانفورد وودز للبيئة، ومنظمة حفظ الطبيعة والصندوق العالمي للحياة البرية، ومعهد جامعة مينيسوتا على البيئة.

مصدر: جامعة ستانفورد

Why 90 Minutes In Nature Really Changes The Brain

Why 90 Minutes In Nature Really Changes The Brain

A new study finds quantifiable evidence that walking in nature could lead to a lower risk of depression.

Specifically, the study finds that people who walked for 90 minutes in a natural area, as opposed to participants who walked in a high-traffic urban setting, showed decreased activity in a region of the brain associated with a key factor in depression.

“These results suggest that accessible natural areas may be vital for mental health in our rapidly urbanizing world,” says coauthor Gretchen Daily, professor in environmental science and a senior fellow at the Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment.

“Our findings can help inform the growing movement worldwide to make cities more livable, and to make nature more accessible to all who live in them.”


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

City Dwellers

More than half of the world’s population lives in urban settings, and that is forecast to rise to 70 percent within a few decades. Urbanization and disconnection from nature have grown dramatically, as have mental disorders such as depression.

In fact, city dwellers have a 20 percent higher risk of anxiety disorders and a 40 percent higher risk of mood disorders as compared to people in rural areas. People born and raised in cities are twice as likely to develop schizophrenia.

Is exposure to nature linked to mental health? If so, the researchers asked, what are nature’s impacts on emotion and mood? Can exposure to nature help “buffer” against depression?

In Nature Or By The Highway

As reported in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, two groups of participants walked for 90 minutes, one in a grassland area scattered with oak trees and shrubs, the other along a traffic-heavy four-lane roadway. Before and after, the researchers measured heart and respiration rates, performed brain scans, and had participants fill out questionnaires.

The researchers found little difference in physiological conditions, but marked changes in the brain. Neural activity in the subgenual prefrontal cortex, a brain region active during rumination—repetitive thought focused on negative emotions—decreased among participants who walked in nature versus those who walked in an urban environment.

“This finding is exciting because it demonstrates the impact of nature experience on an aspect of emotion regulation—something that may help explain how nature makes us feel better,” says lead author Gregory Bratman, a graduate student in Stanford’s Emmett Interdisciplinary Program in Environment and Resources, the Stanford Psychophysiology Lab, and the Center for Conservation Biology.

“These findings are important because they are consistent with, but do not yet prove, a causal link between increasing urbanization and increased rates of mental illness,” says coauthor James Gross, a professor of psychology at Stanford.

It is essential for urban planners and other policymakers to understand the relationship between exposure to nature and mental health, the study’s authors write. “We want to explore what elements of nature—how much of it and what types of experiences—offer the greatest benefits,” Daily says.

In a previous study, also led by Bratman, time in nature was found to have a positive effect on mood and aspects of cognitive function, including working memory, as well as a dampening effect on anxiety.

The studies are part of a growing body of research exploring the connection between nature and human well-being.

The Natural Capital Project, led by Daily, focuses on quantifying the value of natural resources to the public and predicting benefits from investments in nature. It is a joint venture of the Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment, The Nature Conservancy, the World Wildlife Fund, and the University of Minnesota’s Institute on the Environment.

Source: Stanford University

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

English Afrikaans Arabic Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Traditional) Danish Dutch Filipino Finnish French German Greek Hebrew Hindi Hungarian Indonesian Italian Japanese Korean Malay Norwegian Persian Polish Portuguese Romanian Russian Spanish Swahili Swedish Thai Turkish Ukrainian Urdu Vietnamese

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Thursday, 13 May 2021 08:34

Iron deficiency is a common nutritional disorder worldwide, and pre-menopausal women are most at risk of being diagnosed with it.

Tuesday, 27 April 2021 08:56

Peas, lentils, chickpeas, beans and peanuts: if it comes in a pod then chances are it’s a legume. These unassuming food crops have a special ability that makes them fairly unique in the plant...

Thursday, 27 July 2023 22:59

Loneliness can profoundly impact our physical and emotional health, and a new study from Tulane University has shed light on its significant role in the development of cardiovascular disease among...

Monday, 24 July 2023 16:37

Uterine fibroids, or leiomyomas, are benign tumors commonly occurring in the uterus. They affect many women, particularly African Americans, and can lead to clinical symptoms such as abnormal...

Wednesday, 21 April 2021 07:23

Whether it’s your arthritic relative who knows rain is on the way when their knees ache or your lifelong pal who gets a headache when a storm is approaching, we all know somebody who claims they...

Wednesday, 19 May 2021 08:07

For many people, the thing they’ve missed most during the pandemic is being able to hug loved ones. Indeed, it wasn’t until we lost our ability to hug friends and family did many realise just how...

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.