Как узнать, гений ли ваша собака

Как узнать, гений ли ваша собакаСобачий гений. KristinaSh / Shutterstock.com

Любой, кто жил с собакой, знает их способность запоминать значения слов, даже тех, о которых вы не хотите, чтобы они знали. Сколько раз вам приходилось произносить слова «прогулка» или «ужин» в надежде избежать взрывного возбуждения?

Предыдущие исследования изучали, как животные, не относящиеся к человеку, в том числе шимпанзе, морские львы и макаки-резусы, учить слова. Но сейчас бумага опубликованное в журнале Nature, показывает, что некоторые собаки узнают название нового объекта, услышав его всего четыре раза, и ранее считалось, что эта способность присуща только людям.

Исследователи обнаружили, что эта способность не распространена среди всех изученных собак, вместо этого она может быть ограничена несколькими «талантливыми» или хорошо обученными людьми. Так как же определить, гениальна ли ваша собака?

Исследование было простым, и его легко повторить дома. Просто следуйте инструкциям исследователей, чтобы узнать, сможет ли ваша собака так быстро запоминать названия предметов. Но не волнуйтесь, если у вашей собаки нет этой способности, это может быть связано с ее породой или предыдущим опытом.

Виски и Вики Нина

Как узнать, гений ли ваша собакаВиски колли. Клаудиа Фугацца

В новом исследовании участвовали колли по имени Виски, знавший по именам 59 объектов, и йоркширский терьер Вики Нина, знавший 42 игрушки.

Исследователи проверили знание каждой собакой своих игрушек, попросив их приносить каждую игрушку по очереди. Ни владельцы, ни экспериментаторы не могли видеть игрушки, чтобы не повлиять на выбор собак.

Как только было установлено, что собаки знают названия всех своих игрушек, исследователи представили два новых объекта, поместив каждый по очереди в группу известных игрушек. В этом тесте Виски каждый раз выбирал новую игрушку. Вики Нина показала правильный результат в 52.5% попыток, что немного выше шанса.

Изучение новых имен

В следующей части исследования собаке показали игрушку, назвали ее имя и разрешили поиграть с ней. После четырех повторений названия двух разных новых игрушек собаку попросили выбрать одну из двух новых игрушек.

В эту часть испытания не включались знакомые игрушки, чтобы собака не выбрала правильную игрушку путем исключения. Если собака знает названия всех других игрушек, она может выбрать правильную игрушку, потому что догадывается, что незнакомое слово должно указывать на незнакомую игрушку.

Обе собаки выбирали новую игрушку чаще, чем можно было предположить, предполагая, что они действительно очень быстро запоминали название нового объекта. Однако их память значительно ухудшилась через 10 минут и почти полностью через час. Это показывает, что новое обучение нуждается в дополнительном подкреплении, чтобы его сохранить.

Тестирование с новой игрушкой также проводилось 20 добровольцами на их собственных собаках, но эти собаки не показали способности узнавать новые имена после нескольких слушаний.

Авторы предположили, что разница между показателями двух собак в их тесте и собак-добровольцев означает, что для быстрого выучивания новых имен собаке, возможно, необходимо быть необычно умной или иметь большой опыт в изучении имен.

Как узнать, гений ли ваша собакаВики Нина со всеми своими игрушками. Марко Охеда

Умные собаки

Кажется вероятным, что в этих экспериментах действует комбинация факторов. Примечательно, что порода, наиболее часто используемая в исследованиях этого типа, - это бордер-колли, которого специально разводят для выполнения слышимых команд и очень мотивированы выполнять задания и доставлять удовольствие проводнику. Йоркширские терьеры также получают удовольствие от умственной и физической стимуляции.

Аналогичные тесты были проведены другими исследовательскими группами, обычно с использованием бордер-колли. В 2004 г. собака по имени Рико выяснилось, что знает названия 200 различных объектов, а в 2011 г. Chaser выучил 1,022 уникальные объекты.

Другие породы могут быть менее заинтересованы в играх или доставке игрушек. Например, гончих, таких как салюки и борзые, в первую очередь разводят для охоты или бега, поэтому их обычно труднее дрессировать. Они могут вообще не проявлять интереса к игрушкам, а также быть значительно менее мотивированными, чтобы доставить удовольствие дрессировщику.

Умные собаки могут быстро выучить новые имена.

Обе экспериментальные собаки в этом исследовании были интенсивно обучены посредством игры и социального взаимодействия обращать внимание на названия и характеристики игрушек. Это может заставить их с большей вероятностью заметить разницу между новыми и знакомыми игрушками и обратить внимание на связанные с ними словесные сигналы.

Хотя их обучение не было формальным, это, тем не менее, была тренировка с положительным подкреплением, мощный метод обучения животных и людей. Собаки, несомненно, в высшей степени усвоили свои навыки.

Научить всех собак выполнять задания, в том числе узнавать названия предметов, вполне возможно. Но степень, в которой они хотят и способны учиться и выполнять задачу, во многом регулируется породой собаки и уровнем мотивации, которой обладает отдельная собака.

Если ваш питомец - афганская борзая или сенбернар, не ожидайте, что он будет часами собирать для вас игрушки. С другой стороны, если у вас есть бордер-колли или пудель, их способности могут быть ограничены только вашим воображением и вашей преданностью игре с ними.Беседа

Об авторе

Ян Хул, преподаватель биологии, Университет Кила

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

books_pets

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

 Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

How To Tell If Your Dog Is A Genius

How To Tell If Your Dog Is A GeniusCanine genius. KristinaSh/Shutterstock.com

Anyone who has lived with a dog will know their capacity for learning the meaning of words, even ones you don’t want them to know. How many times have you had to spell the words “walk” or “dinner” in the hope of avoiding an explosion of excitement?

Previous studies have investigated how non-human animals, including chimpanzees, sea lions and rhesus monkeys, learn words. But now a paper published in Nature shows some dogs learn the name of a new object after hearing it only four times, an ability previously thought to be confined to humans.

The researchers found this ability was not common among all the dogs studied, instead it may be limited to a few “talented” or highly trained individuals. So how can you tell whether your own dog is a genius or not?

The study was simple, and easy to replicate at home. Just follow the steps the researchers took to see whether your dog can learn the names of objects as quickly. But don’t worry if your dog doesn’t have this ability, it might just be down to their breed or previous experience.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Whisky and Vicky Nina

How To Tell If Your Dog Is A GeniusWhisky the collie. Claudia Fugazza

The new study involved a collie called Whisky, who knew 59 objects by name, and a Yorkshire terrier called Vicky Nina, who knew 42 toys.

The researchers tested each dogs’ knowledge of their toys by asking them to bring each toy in turn. Neither the owners nor the experimenters could see the toys, to avoid influencing the dogs’ choice.

Once it was established the dogs knew the names of all their toys, the researchers introduced two new objects, placing each in turn in a group of known toys. In this test Whisky chose the new toy every single time. Vicky Nina fetched the right one in 52.5% of trials, which is slightly above chance.

Learning new names

For the next part of the study the dog was shown a toy, told its name and was then allowed to play with it. After four repetitions of the name of two different new toys, the dog was asked to choose one of the two new toys.

No familiar toys were included in this part of the trial, to prevent the dog choosing the right toy by exclusion. If it knows the name of all other toys, the dog might pick the correct toy because it guesses the unfamiliar word must indicate the unfamiliar toy.

Both dogs chose the new toy more often than chance would predict, suggesting they were indeed learning the name of a new object very quickly. However, their memory decayed considerably after 10 minutes and almost completely after one hour. This shows the new learning needs more reinforcement if it is to be retained.

The test involving the new toy was also carried out by 20 volunteers with their own dogs, but these dogs didn’t show the ability to learn new names after few hearings.

The authors suggested the difference between the performance of the two dogs in their test and the volunteer dogs means, in order to learn new names quickly, the dog might need to be unusually intelligent or to have a lot of experience in learning names.

How To Tell If Your Dog Is A GeniusVicky Nina with all her toys. Marco Ojeda

Clever dogs

It seems likely there are a combination of factors at work in these experiments. It’s significant that the breed most commonly used in studies of this type is a border collie, which is purposefully bred to attend to audible commands and is very highly motivated to carry out tasks and to please the handler. Yorkshire terriers also enjoy mental and physical stimulation.

Similar tests have been carried out by other research groups, usually using border collies. In 2004, a dog called Rico was found to know the names of 200 different objects, and in 2011 Chaser learnt 1,022 unique objects.

Other breeds may simply be less interested in playing with or fetching toys. For example sight hounds, such as salukis and greyhounds, are primarily bred for hunting or racing, so are generally more difficult to train. They may show no interest in toys at all, as well as being considerably less motivated to please the handler.

Clever dogs can learn new names quickly.

Both the experimental dogs in this study were intensively trained, through play and social interaction, to pay attention to the names and characteristics of the toys. This might make them more likely to notice the differences between new and familiar toys, and to attend to the verbal cue associated with them.

Although their training was not formal, it was nevertheless positive reinforcement training, a powerful method for teaching animals and humans. The dogs have undoubtedly learned their skills to a high degree.

It’s quite possible to teach all dogs to perform tasks, including learning the names of objects. But the degree to which they’re willing and able to learn, and to carry out the task, is very much regulated by breed of dog and the level of motivation the individual dog possesses.

If your pet is an Afghan hound or a St Bernard, you should not expect it to be interested in spending hours fetching toys for you. If, on the other hand, you have a border collie or a poodle, their abilities may only be limited by your imagination and your dedication to playing with them.The Conversation

About The Author

Jan Hoole, Lecturer in Biology, Keele University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

books_pets

More By This Author

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

English Afrikaans Arabic Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Traditional) Danish Dutch Filipino Finnish French German Greek Hebrew Hindi Hungarian Indonesian Italian Japanese Korean Malay Norwegian Persian Polish Portuguese Romanian Russian Spanish Swahili Swedish Thai Turkish Ukrainian Urdu Vietnamese

Thursday, 15 April 2021 13:22

Skin brushing is a highly effective technique for cleansing the lymphatic system. Topics covered in this article: Benefits of Skin Brushing; What type of skin brush is the best to use; How to Brush...

Monday, 17 May 2021 08:55

Maybe you’re trying to eat healthier these days, aiming to get enough of the good stuff and limit the less-good stuff. You’re paying attention to things like fiber and fat and vitamins… and...

Sunday, 16 May 2021 14:24

The human body is an amazing thing, full of systems, organs, nerves, and vessels that work together in harmony. You’ve seen the body described as a machine, as a city, or even as a factory....

Wednesday, 19 May 2021 09:40

To “cry poor mouth” is an expression used to habitually complain about a lack of money. A literal poor mouth, however, represents one of the most widespread global diseases: tooth decay.

Wednesday, 26 July 2023 12:55

With the rising cost of living, gyms memberships and fitness classes are becoming increasingly unaffordable. But the good news is you can make just as much progress at home.

Saturday, 15 May 2021 16:24

There exist several approaches to obtaining optimal health, all of them important, each of them acting in some way on all the aspects of our beings. I know that if a technique were valid for...

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.