عزيز طبيعي

بروتينات بيتا بروتين يمكن أن يكون مفتاح الضرب لمرض السكري

بروتينات بيتا بروتين يمكن أن يكون مفتاح الضرب لمرض السكري

يحث هرمون يدعى بيتا بتروفين الخلايا في البنكرياس على التكاثر وينتج المزيد من الأنسولين. قد تؤدي هذه النتيجة ، في الفئران ، إلى طرق جديدة لمنع أو إبطاء تقدم مرض السكري.

داء السكري هو اضطراب في استخدام الجلوكوز ، وهو سكر يعمل كوقود للجسم. عندما ترتفع مستويات الجلوكوز في الدم ، عادة ما تصنع خلايا بيتا في البنكرياس هرمون الأنسولين ، الذي يشير إلى الخلايا التي تأخذ السكر من الدم. في نوع مرض السكري 1 ، يهاجم الجهاز المناعي للجسم خلايا البيتا ويدمرها. في نوع مرض السكري 2 ، وهو الشكل الأكثر شيوعًا لمرض السكري ، تفقد الخلايا حساسيتها تجاه الأنسولين ، ولا تستطيع خلايا بيتا إنتاج كمية كافية من الأنسولين للحفاظ على مستويات السكر في الدم. بمرور الوقت ، يمكن أن تؤدي المستويات المرتفعة من الجلوكوز إلى أمراض القلب والسكتة الدماغية والعمى ومشاكل أخرى.

تتألف خلايا بيتا المنتجة للأنسولين من 1٪ من البنكرياس العادي وعادةً ما تنقسم ببطء شديد. الدكاترة. وأوضح بينج يي ودوغلاس إيه. ميلتون وزملاؤه في معهد هارفارد ستيم سيل أنه في حين تختلف أسباب النوع 1 ونوع السكري 2 ، فإن العلاجات التي تشجع خلايا بيتا على التكاثر يمكن أن تفيد المرضى الذين يعانون من كلا النوعين من مرض السكري.

ووجدت دراسات سابقة أنه عندما يتم حظر إشارة الأنسولين في الأنسجة مثل الكبد ، تتكاثر خلايا بيتا وتزيد إفراز الأنسولين. ولذلك استخدم الباحثون جزيءًا يربط مستقبل الأنسولين للتداخل مع إشارات الأنسولين.

وأكد العلماء أن سد مستقبل الأنسولين تسبب في مقاومة الأنسولين وحفز انتشار خلايا بيتا في الفئران. عندما قاموا بتحليل التعبير الجيني ، قاموا بتحديد جين تم تنظيمه بعد المعالجة باستخدام 4-fold في الكبد و 3-fold في دهون بيضاء. وينتج الجين بروتينًا أطلق عليه العلماء اسم betatrophin.

هرمون قد تساعد مرضى السكري علاجإن جين البروتين البشري المكافئ مشابه جدًا. في حين يتم التعبير عن betatrophin في الكبد والدهون من الفئران ، في الناس يعبر عنها في المقام الأول في الكبد. يتم إفراز الهرمون في مجرى الدم للإشارة إلى خلايا بيتا في البنكرياس للتكاثر.

لاختبار آثار بيتاropروفين في الجسم ، قام الباحثون بحقن جين بيتاتروفين في كبد الفئران. بعد أيام 8 ، ملأت خلايا بيتا في هذه الفئران زمن 3 مساحة أكبر في البنكرياس منها في الفئران المحقونة بالسيطرة ، وتضاعف محتوى الأنسولين بالبنكرياس. كما كان لدى الفئران مستوى أقل من الجلوكوز في الصيام وتحسّن في تحمل الغلوكوز مقارنةً بفئران السيطرة.

ويهدف الباحثون الآن إلى إنتاج بروتين betatrophin واختباره مباشرة عن طريق الحقن. وهم يعملون مع شركات 2 للتكنولوجيا الحيوية والأدوية لنقل الهرمون المكتشف حديثا نحو العيادة.

إذا كان هذا يمكن أن يستخدم في الناس ، يقول ميلتون ، "قد يعني ذلك في النهاية أنه بدلاً من أخذ حقن 3 بالأنسولين مرات في اليوم ، قد تأخذ حقنة من هذا الهرمون مرة واحدة في الأسبوع أو مرة في الشهر ، أو في أفضل الحالات ربما حتى مرة في السنة.

هاريسون وين، دكتوراه

  • http://www. nih. gov/researchmatters/september2008/09082008insulin.
  • http://www. nih. gov/researchmatters/april2012/04092012insulin.
  • http://diabetes. niddk. nih.
  • http://ndep. nih.

2013 أبريل 24. PII: S0092-8674 (13) 00449-2. دوى: 10. 1016 / ي. زنزانة. 2013. 04. 008. النشر الإلكتروني قبل الطباعة]. PMID: 23623304.

معهد المعاهد الوطنية للصحة الوطني للسكري وأمراض الجهاز الهضمي والكلى (NIDDK) ومعهد الخلايا الجذعية في جامعة هارفارد.

مصدر المقال: NIH Research Matters

أنجليزي الأفريكانية عربي الصينية المبسطة) تقاليد صينية) Dutch الفلبينية جيب  German الهندية Indonesian Italian Japanese Korean Malay اللغة الفارسية Portuguese Russian أسباني
السواحلية Swedish Thai اللغة التركية الأردية الفيتنامية

Betatrophin Protein Could Be the Key to Beating Diabetes

Betatrophin Protein Could Be the Key to Beating Diabetes

A hormone called betatrophin prompts cells in the pancreas to multiply and produce more insulin. The finding, in mice, may lead to new ways to prevent or slow the progression of diabetes.

Diabetes is a disorder in the use of glucose, a sugar that serves as fuel for the body. When blood glucose levels rise, beta cells in the pancreas normally make the hormone insulin, which signals cells to take sugar from the blood. In type 1 diabetes, the body’s own immune system attacks and destroys beta cells. In type 2 diabetes, the most common form of diabetes, cells lose their sensitivity to insulin, and beta cells can’t make enough insulin to keep blood sugar levels in check. Over time, high levels of glucose can lead to heart disease, stroke, blindness and other problems.

Insulin-secreting beta cells comprise just 1% of a normal pancreas and normally divide very slowly. Drs. Peng Yi, Douglas A. Melton and colleagues at the Harvard Stem Cell Institute reasoned that, while the causes for type 1 and type 2 diabetes differ, treatments that encourage beta cells to multiply could benefit patients with both types of diabetes.

Previous studies found that, when insulin signaling is blocked in tissues such as the liver, beta cells multiply and increase insulin secretion. The researchers therefore used a molecule that binds the insulin receptor to interfere with insulin signaling.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

The scientists confirmed that blocking the insulin receptor caused insulin resistance and stimulated beta cell proliferation in mice. When they analyzed gene expression, they identified a gene that was upregulated after the treatment by about 4-fold in liver and 3-fold in white fat. The gene produces a protein that the scientists dubbed betatrophin.

Hormone May Help Treat DiabetesThe gene for an equivalent human protein is very similar. While betatrophin is expressed in the liver and fat of mice, in people it’s primarily expressed in the liver. The hormone is secreted into the bloodstream to signal beta cells in the pancreas to reproduce.

To test the effects of betatrophin in the body, the researchers injected the betatrophin gene into mouse livers. After 8 days, beta cells in these mice filled 3 times more space in the pancreas than in control-injected mice, and pancreas insulin content doubled. The mice also had a lower fasting glucose level and improved glucose tolerance compared to control mice.

The researchers now aim to make betatrophin protein and test it directly by injection. They are working with 2 biotech and pharmaceutical companies to move the newly discovered hormone toward the clinic.

If this could be used in people,” Melton says, “it could eventually mean that instead of taking insulin injections 3 times a day, you might take an injection of this hormone once a week or once a month, or in the best case maybe even once a year.

by Harrison Wein, Ph. D.

  • http://www. nih. gov/researchmatters/september2008/09082008insulin.
  • http://www. nih. gov/researchmatters/april2012/04092012insulin.
  • http://diabetes. niddk. nih.
  • http://ndep. nih.

2013 Apr 24. pii: S0092-8674(13)00449-2. doi: 10. 1016/j. cell. 2013. 04. 008. Epub ahead of print]. PMID: 23623304.

NIH’s National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) and the Harvard Stem Cell Institute.

Article Source: NIH Research Matters

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

English Afrikaans Arabic Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Traditional) Danish Dutch Filipino Finnish French German Greek Hebrew Hindi Hungarian Indonesian Italian Japanese Korean Malay Norwegian Persian Polish Portuguese Romanian Russian Spanish Swahili Swedish Thai Turkish Ukrainian Urdu Vietnamese

Sunday, 23 May 2021 08:15

We sometimes need to use antibiotics to treat sick animals, but taking advantage of opportunities to reduce antibiotics use could benefit everyone

Wednesday, 19 May 2021 08:07

For many people, the thing they’ve missed most during the pandemic is being able to hug loved ones. Indeed, it wasn’t until we lost our ability to hug friends and family did many realise just how...

Saturday, 03 April 2021 08:08

Coffee, green tea and other caffeinated drinks are a popular way to start the morning. Not only does it give many people a much-needed boost, but caffeine can also help when it comes to fitness.

Thursday, 15 April 2021 07:10

Blooming flowers, chirping birds and long-awaited rays of sunshine: The first signs of spring are often greeted with joy. But soon comes the realization that with warm weather comes ticks. 

Thursday, 27 May 2021 05:24

Life, by its very nature is … alive! Because it is alive, it is not just responding in a set, mechanical way, but rather it is responsive to what is needed and helpful and useful. Cells might...

Wednesday, 05 May 2021 08:15

While our immune system and antibiotics both do a great job of helping us fight life-threatening infections, the emergence of antibiotic resistance is quickly making it more difficult to cure...

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.