Um sich besser zu fühlen, ersetzen Sie das Sitzen durch Schlaf oder leichte Aktivität

Sitzen gegen Stehen 6 5

In neuen Forschungen wurde das Ersetzen langer Sitzphasen durch Schlaf mit weniger Stress, besserer Stimmung und niedrigerem Body-Mass-Index in Verbindung gebracht.

Darüber hinaus war das Ersetzen leichter körperlicher Aktivität im nächsten Jahr mit einer Verbesserung der Stimmung und einem niedrigeren BMI verbunden, wie die Studie zeigt.

Leichte Aktivitäten können das Gehen in Ihrem Heimbüro beim Telefonieren oder Stehen beim Vorbereiten des Abendessens umfassen, sagt der Hauptautor Jacob Meyer, Assistenzprofessor für Kinesiologie an der Iowa State University.

"Die Leute denken vielleicht nicht einmal an einige dieser Aktivitäten als körperliche Aktivität", sagt Meyer. „Leichte Aktivität ist viel weniger intensiv als ins Fitnessstudio zu gehen oder zur Arbeit zu gehen, aber diese Schritte zu unternehmen, um sich zu trennen lange Zeiträume des Sitzens kann einen Einfluss haben. “


 Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

Wöchentliches Magazin Tägliche Inspiration

Meyer und Kollegen verwendeten Daten, die im Rahmen der Energiebilanzstudie an der University of South Carolina gesammelt wurden. 10 Tage lang trugen Studienteilnehmer im Alter von 21 bis 35 Jahren eine Armbinde, mit der ihr Energieverbrauch erfasst wurde. Meyer, Direktor des Wellbeing and Exercise Lab im US-Bundesstaat Iowa, sagte, die Daten ermöglichten es den Forschern, Schlaf, körperliche Aktivität und sitzende Zeit objektiv zu messen, anstatt sich auf Selbstberichte zu verlassen.

Zusätzlich zu den Vorteilen von Schlaf und leichter körperlicher Aktivität stellten die Forscher fest, dass mäßige bis kräftige Aktivität mit niedrigerem Körperfett und BMI verbunden war. Angesichts der negativen gesundheitlichen Auswirkungen einer längeren Sitzzeit könnten die Ergebnisse die Menschen dazu ermutigen, kleine Änderungen vorzunehmen, die nachhaltig sind.

"Es kann für Menschen einfacher sein, ihr Verhalten zu ändern, wenn sie der Meinung sind, dass dies machbar ist und keine größere Änderung erforderlich ist", sagt Meyer. "Das Ersetzen der sitzenden Zeit durch Hausarbeit oder andere leichte Aktivitäten ist etwas, das sie möglicherweise konsequenter tun können als eine Stunde lang."

Mehr Schlaf zu bekommen ist eine weitere relativ einfache Änderung. Anstatt lange wach zu bleiben und fernzusehen, bietet das frühzeitige Schlafengehen und das gleichzeitige Aufstehen mehrere Vorteile und ermöglicht Ihrem Körper, sich zu erholen, sagt Meyer. Schlafen ist auch insofern einzigartig, als es an der Zeit ist, sich nicht auf andere potenziell problematische Verhaltensweisen einzulassen, wie z. B. das Essen von Junk Food währenddessen sitzend vor einem Bildschirm.

Diese subtilen Veränderungen waren mit einer besseren aktuellen Stimmung verbunden, aber leichte körperliche Aktivität brachte auch Vorteile für bis zu einem Jahr, wie die Studie zeigt. Während die Forschung vor der COVID-19-Pandemie durchgeführt wurde, sagt Meyer, dass die Ergebnisse angesichts der wachsenden psychischen Gesundheitsprobleme in dieser Zeit der physischen Distanzierung rechtzeitig sind.

"Wenn alles gerade passiert, ist dies eine Sache, die wir kontrollieren oder verwalten können, und es hat das Potenzial, unserer psychischen Gesundheit zu helfen", sagt Meyer.

Während die Staaten beginnen, die Beschränkungen für den Aufenthalt zu Hause zu lockern, untersucht Meyer Veränderungen der körperlichen Aktivität und der Sitzzeit mit potenziell interessanten Ergebnissen für diejenigen, die vor der Pandemie regelmäßig trainiert haben. Vorläufige Daten Aus einer separaten Studie geht hervor, dass die körperliche Aktivität um 32% reduziert ist. Die Frage, die er und seine Kollegen zu beantworten hoffen, ist, wie aktuelle Änderungen der Aktivität mit der psychischen Gesundheit interagieren und wie sich unser Verhalten im Laufe der Zeit weiter ändern wird.

Die Forschung erscheint in der American Journal of Preventive Medicine.

Zusätzliche Forscher der Western Oregon University, der Arizona State University, des Children's Mercy Hospital in Kansas City, der West Virginia University und der University of South Carolina trugen zur Forschung bei.

Original-Studie

books_health

Sie Könnten Auch Mögen

VERFÜGBARE SPRACHEN

Englisch Afrikanisch Arabisch Bengalisch Chinesisch (vereinfacht) Chinesisch (traditionell) Niederländisch Filipino Französisch Deutsch Hindi Indonesian Italienisch Japanisch Javanisch Koreanisch Malay Marathi persisch Portugiesisch Russisch Spanisch Suaheli Schwedisch Tamilisch Thai Türkisch Ukrainisch Urdu Vietnamesisch

Folge InnerSelf weiter

Facebook-Symboltwitter iconyoutube iconInstagram-SymbolPintrest-SymbolRSS-Symbol

 Holen Sie sich das Neueste per E-Mail

Wöchentliches Magazin Tägliche Inspiration

New Attitudes - Neue Möglichkeiten

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | Innerself Vermarkten
Copyright © 1985 - 2021 Inner Publikationen. Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

To Feel Better, Replace Sitting With Sleep Or Light Activity

sitting vs standing 6 5

In new research, replacing long periods of sitting with sleep was associated with lower stress, better mood, and lower body mass index.

In addition, substituting light physical activity was associated with improved mood and lower BMI across the next year, the study shows.

Light activity can include walking around your home office while talking on the phone or standing while preparing dinner, says lead author Jacob Meyer, assistant professor of kinesiology at Iowa State University.

“People may not even think about some of these activities as physical activity,” Meyer says. “Light activity is much lower intensity than going to the gym or walking to work, but taking these steps to break up long periods of sitting may have an impact.”


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Meyer and colleagues used data collected as part of the Energy Balance Study at the University of South Carolina. For 10 days, study participants, ranging in age from 21 to 35, wore an armband that tracked their energy expenditure. Meyer, director of the Wellbeing and Exercise Lab at Iowa State, says the data allowed researchers to objectively measure sleep, physical activity, and sedentary time, rather than relying on self-reports.

In addition to the benefits of sleep and light physical activity, the researchers found moderate to vigorous activity was associated with lower body fat and BMI. Given the negative health effects of prolonged sedentary time, Meyer says the findings may encourage people to make small changes that are sustainable.

“It may be easier for people to change their behavior if they feel it’s doable and doesn’t require a major change,” Meyer says. “Replacing sedentary time with housework or other light activities is something they may be able to do more consistently than going for an hour-long run.”

Getting more sleep is another relatively simple change to make. Instead of staying up late watching TV, going to bed earlier and getting up at a consistent time provides multiple benefits and allows your body to recover, Meyer says. Sleeping is also unique in that it is time you’re not engaging in other potentially problematic behaviors, such as eating junk food while sitting in front of a screen.

Making these subtle changes was associated with better current mood, but light physical activity also provided benefits for up to a year, the study shows. While the research was conducted prior to the COVID-19 pandemic, Meyer says the results are timely given the growing mental health concerns during this time of physical distancing.

“With everything happening right now, this is one thing we can control or manage and it has the potential to help our mental health,” Meyer says.

As states start to ease stay-at-home restrictions, Meyer is looking at changes in physical activity and sitting time with potentially interesting results for those who regularly worked out prior to the pandemic. Preliminary data from a separate study show a 32% reduction in physical activity. The question he and colleagues hope to answer is how current changes in activity interact with mental health and how our behaviors will continue to change over time.

The research appears in the American Journal of Preventive Medicine.

Additional researchers from Western Oregon University, Arizona State University, Children’s Mercy Hospital in Kansas City, West Virginia University, and the University of South Carolina contributed to the research.

Original Study

books_health

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

English Afrikaans Arabic Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Traditional) Danish Dutch Filipino Finnish French German Greek Hebrew Hindi Hungarian Indonesian Italian Japanese Korean Malay Norwegian Persian Polish Portuguese Romanian Russian Spanish Swahili Swedish Thai Turkish Ukrainian Urdu Vietnamese

Monday, 07 June 2021 08:07

Injury to the adult brain is all too common. A brain injury will often show up on brain scans as a well-defined area of damage. But often the changes to the brain extend far beyond the visible...

Saturday, 08 May 2021 08:43

Humanity has always had a rocky relationship with wasps. They are one of those insects that we love to hate. We value bees (which also sting) because they pollinate our crops and make honey

Monday, 17 May 2021 08:55

Maybe you’re trying to eat healthier these days, aiming to get enough of the good stuff and limit the less-good stuff. You’re paying attention to things like fiber and fat and vitamins… and...

Tuesday, 27 April 2021 08:56

Peas, lentils, chickpeas, beans and peanuts: if it comes in a pod then chances are it’s a legume. These unassuming food crops have a special ability that makes them fairly unique in the plant...

Thursday, 13 May 2021 08:34

Iron deficiency is a common nutritional disorder worldwide, and pre-menopausal women are most at risk of being diagnosed with it.

Thursday, 27 July 2023 20:13

How to train your body for hot weather if you are active or work outdoors Heat exposure is inevitable for those who work or are active outdoors. (Shutterstock) Global warming is making outdoor...

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.