Как молодые собаки могут быть больше похожи на человеческих подростков, чем мы думаем

Как молодые собаки могут быть больше похожи на человеческих подростков, чем мы думаем Pixabay, FAL

Поговорите со многими владельцами собак, и они скажут вам, что когда-то их щенок с отличным поведением начал становиться «трудным» в возрасте от шести до 12 месяцев. Есть статьи по всему интернету, которые советуют владельцам, как справляться с подростковыми собаками. Но до сих пор не было научно документированных доказательств изменений поведения у собак в период полового созревания.

Наша Новое исследование, опубликованный в «Biology Letters», подтверждает то, что многие владельцы собак и профессионалы-собаки давно подозревали: у собак в период полового созревания проходит стадия пониженного послушания их владельцам. Исследование также подчеркивает увлекательное взаимодействие между половым созреванием у собак и типом привязанности, которую собака проявляет к своему владельцу.

Все млекопитающие (включая людей и собак) переживают период изменений, известный как подростковый возраст, когда ребенок развивается как взрослый, как поведенческий, так и репродуктивный. Половое созревание - это процесс, посредством которого животные становятся репродуктивно зрелыми, причем поведенческая зрелость достигается гораздо позже, в конце подросткового периода.

Подростковый возраст - это длительный период изменений, во время которого части ювенильного мозга перестраиваются во взрослый мозг. В течение этого времени ремоделирование наших нейронных цепей обусловлено драматическими гормональными изменениями и напрямую влияет на поведение. Поведенческие изменения У подростков наблюдаются снижение способности контролировать свои импульсы и эмоции, повышенная раздражительность и рискованное поведение. Период перемен у подростков начинается у людей в возрасте от восьми до девяти лет и заканчивается в нашей середине двадцатых, Половое созревание, которое происходит в подростковом возрасте, - это период времени, который мы чаще всего ассоциируем с «подростковым возрастом».

Исследования показывает нам, что подростковый возраст является уязвимым временем для взаимоотношений ребенка с родителями, с типичным для этой фазы усиленным конфликтом. Существуют также связи между проблемами поведения в подростковой фазе и качеством отношений между ребенком и родителями. Дети с небезопасной привязанностью к своим родителям были показаны вступать в период полового созревания раньше и проявлять больший конфликт со своими родителями в подростковом возрасте.

Подростковый возраст у собак

Отношения владелец-собака имеют много общего с отношениями родитель-ребенок, основанные на поведенческий и гормональный механизмы склеивания. Но подростковый период является одним из наименее исследованных периодов развития собак, при этом мало научных данных о том, как на это влияет поведение собак.

Как молодые собаки могут быть больше похожи на человеческих подростков, чем мы думаем Ваша собака не единственная, у которой есть подростковый блюз. Лукреция Карнелос / Unsplash, FAL

Основываясь на том, что мы знаем о неврологическом развитии у млекопитающих и о том, как подростковый возраст людей влияет на отношения между родителями и детьми, наша команда предположила, что подростковый возраст собаки (который обычно начинается в возрасте от шести до девяти месяцев) может быть уязвимым временем для владельца собаки. отношения. Половое созревание, как ожидается, особенно повлияет на динамику владельца собаки из-за конкурирующих желаний жить со своей человеческой семьей и искать и размножаться с другими собаками.

Следуя группе щенков-поводырей в течение первого года жизни, мы исследовали, будут ли отношения между собаками и владельцами параллельными отношениями между родителями и детьми несколькими конкретными способами. Для этого мы использовали данные, собранные с помощью комбинации анкет поведения, заполненных воспитателями и дрессировщиками 285 собак, и поведенческих тестов с 69 из этих 285 собак.

Сходства с людьми

Наши результаты показывают три конкретных способа, которыми отношения между собаками и собаками в подростковом возрасте отражают отношения между детьми и родителями.

Мы смогли впервые показать, что собаки проявляют повышенное конфликтное поведение, характеризующееся снижением послушания в период полового созревания (в возрасте около восьми месяцев). Важно отметить, что это снижение послушания проявляется только в том, как собака ведет себя по отношению к своему попечителю: собаки все еще вели себя хорошо для незнакомцев в тесте поведения и для своих дрессировщиков, как сообщается в анкетах. Это социально специфическое непослушание может функционировать, чтобы проверить силу отношений собак с их попечителем в попытке восстановить надежную связь.

Как и следовало ожидать из исследований, посвященных отношениям между родителями и детьми в это время, собаки, которые имели более ненадежную привязанность к своему попечителю (характеризуются у собак большим вниманием и неприязнью к тому, что их оставляют в покое), с наименьшей вероятностью будут подчиняться своему попечителю во время половое созревание.

В заключительной параллели с биологией человека, кобели стали репродуктивно зрелыми (на что указывает, когда они впервые стали «в жару») раньше, если у них было больше небезопасных привязанностей к своим попечителям. Эти результаты предполагают возможность межвидового влияния связи между человеком и животным на репродуктивное развитие животных и подчеркивают, что подростковый возраст является уязвимым временем для отношений между собаками и владельцами.

Возможно, самое важное, что следует отметить владельцам собак, - это то, что эти изменения в поведении были преходящей фазой. К тому времени, когда собакам исполнилось 12 месяцев, их поведение вернулось к тому, что было до полового созревания, или в большинстве случаев улучшилось.

У собак, как и у людей, кажется, что подростковое поведение существует, но не длится долго. Это важно знать любому новому владельцу собаки, потому что, к сожалению, подростковый возраст является пиковым возрастом, когда собак бросают и оказываются в приютах для животных. Также очень важно, чтобы владельцы не наказывали своих собак за непослушание или не начали отстраняться и отмежевываться от них в это время, так как это может усугубить проблемное поведение в долгосрочной перспективе, как это происходит у людей.Беседа

Об авторе

Наоми Д. Харви, почетный доцент кафедры поведения и благополучия животных-компаньонов, Ноттингемский университет и Люси Ашер, старший преподаватель естественных и экологических наук, Университет Ньюкасла

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

books_pets

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

How Young Dogs Might Be More Similar To Human Teenagers Than We Think

How Young Dogs Might Be More Similar To Human Teenagers Than We Think Pixabay, FAL

Speak to many dog owners and they will tell you that their once perfectly behaved puppy started to become “difficult” at around six to 12 months of age. There are articles all over the internet that advise owners on how to cope with teenage dogs. But until now there has been no scientifically documented evidence of behaviour changes in dogs during puberty.

Our new study, published in Biology Letters, confirms what many dog owners and dog professionals have long suspected: that dogs have a passing phase of reduced obedience towards their owners during puberty. The study also highlights a fascinating interaction between puberty in dogs and the type of attachment the dog shows towards their owner.

All mammals (including humans and dogs) go through a period of change known as adolescence, when the child develops into an adult, both behaviourally and reproductively. Puberty is the process through which animals become reproductively mature, with behavioural maturity reached much later, at the end of adolescence.

Adolescence is a long period of change during which parts of the juvenile brain are remodelled into an adult brain. During this time, remodelling of our neural circuits is driven by dramatic hormonal changes and directly impacts behaviour. Behavioural changes seen in human teenagers include reduced ability to control their impulses and their emotions, increased irritability and risk-taking behaviour. The adolescent period of change begins in humans at age eight to nine and ends in our mid-twenties. Puberty, which occurs in the midst of adolescence, is the period of time that we are most likely to associate with being “teenage”.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Research shows us that adolescence is a vulnerable time for child-parent relationships, with increased conflict typical of this phase. There are also links between adolescent-phase behaviour problems and the quality of the child-parent relationship. Children who have insecure attachments towards their parent figures have been shown to enter puberty earlier and exhibit greater conflict with their parents during adolescence.

Adolescence in dogs

The owner-dog relationship has many similarities to the parent-child relationship, being based upon similar behavioural and hormonal bonding mechanisms. But the adolescent period is one of the least researched periods of dog development, with little scientific evidence gathered about how dog behaviour is affected at this time.

How Young Dogs Might Be More Similar To Human Teenagers Than We Think Your dog isn’t the only one that’s got teenage blues. Lucrezia Carnelos/Unsplash, FAL

Based upon what we know about neurological development in mammals, and how adolescence in people impacts the parent-child relationship, our team hypothesised that dog adolescence (which typically begins between six to nine months of age) could be a vulnerable time for dog-owner relationships. Puberty is expected to particularly impact the dog-owner dynamic due to the competing desires to live with their human family and to seek out and reproduce with other dogs.

By following a group of guide dog puppies over their first year of life, we investigated whether dog-owner relationships would parallel parent-child relationships in a few specific ways. To do this, we used data collected through a combination of behaviour questionnaires completed by caregivers and trainers of 285 dogs, and behavioural tests with 69 of those 285 dogs.

Similarities to humans

Our results highlight three specific ways in which dog-owner relationships during adolescence mirror that of child-parent relationships.

We have been able to show for the first time that dogs display increased conflict behaviour, characterised by a reduction in obedience, during puberty (at around eight months of age). Importantly, this reduced obedience is seen only in how the dog behaves towards their caregiver: the dogs still behaved well for strangers in the behaviour test, and for their trainers as reported via the questionnaires. This socially specific disobedience may function to test the strength of the dogs relationship with their caregiver in an attempt to re-establish a secure bond.

As expected from studies on parent-child relationships at this time, dogs who had a more insecure attachment to their caregiver (characterised in dogs by a greater amount of attention seeking and dislike of being left alone) were the least likely to obey their caregiver during puberty.

In a final parallel with human biology, female dogs became reproductively mature (indicated by when they first became “in heat”) earlier if they had more insecure attachments to their caregivers. These findings suggest the possibility for cross-species influence of the human-animal bond on reproductive development in animals and highlight adolescence as a vulnerable time for dog-owner relationships.

Perhaps the most important thing to note for dog owners is that these behaviour changes were a passing phase. By the time dogs were 12 months old, their behaviour had returned to how they were before puberty, or in most cases, had improved.

In dogs, as with people, it seems that teenage behaviour exists, but does not last. This is crucial for any new dog owner to be aware of, because sadly, adolescence is the peak age when dogs are abandoned and end up in animal shelters. It’s also extremely important that owners don’t punish their dogs for disobedience or start to pull away and disengage from them at this time, as this would be likely to make problem behaviour worse in the long run, as it does in people.The Conversation

About The Author

Naomi D Harvey, Honorary Assistant Professor in Companion Animal Behaviour and Welfare, University of Nottingham and Lucy Asher, Senior Lecturer in Natural and Environmental Sciences, Newcastle University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

books_pets

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

English Afrikaans Arabic Bengali Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Traditional) Dutch Filipino French German Hindi Indonesian Italian Japanese Javanese Korean Malay Marathi Persian Portuguese Russian Spanish Swahili Swedish Tamil Thai Turkish Ukrainian Urdu Vietnamese

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

MOST READ

Workplaces must recognize its physical and emotional toll
Workplaces must recognize its physical and emotional toll
by Stephanie Gilbert, Assistant Professor of Organizational Management, Cape Breton University
Study shows AI-generated fake reports fool experts
Study shows AI-generated fake reports fool experts
by Priyanka Ranade, PhD Student in Computer Science and Electrical Engineering, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
What is endometriosis? Patients turn to social media for information and support
What is endometriosis? Patients turn to social media for information and support
by Eileen Mary Holowka, PhD Candidate, Communication Studies, Concordia University
Macular degeneration is a leading cause of blindness. Here's how to prevent it
Macular degeneration is a leading cause of blindness. Here's how to prevent it
by Langis Michaud, Professeur Titulaire. École d'optométrie. Expertise en santé oculaire et usage des lentilles cornéennes spécialisées, Université de Montréal
Can I get AstraZeneca now and Pfizer later? Why mixing and matching COVID vaccines could help solve many rollout problems
Can I get AstraZeneca now and Pfizer later? Why mixing and matching COVID vaccines could help solve many rollout problems
by Fiona Russell, Senior Principal Research Fellow; paediatrician; infectious diseases epidemiologist, The University of Melbourne
10 steps to get ready for wildfire smoke
10 steps to get ready for wildfire smoke
by Sarah Henderson, Associate Professor (Partner), School of Population and Public Health, University of British Columbia
Close-up of a man's neck with a band holding a small microphone to his throat
Simple, fast, wide-awake diagnosis of sleep apnea could enable better surgical care and improve sleep
by Zahra Moussavi, Professor of Biomedical Engineering, University of Manitoba
The eruption of Mount Nyiragongo: its health effects will be felt for a long time
The eruption of Mount Nyiragongo: its health effects will be felt for a long time
by Patrick de Marie C. Katoto, Lecturer, Université catholique de Bukavu
A health-care worker performs a COVID swab test on a patient.
Why are some COVID test results false positives, and how common are they?
by Adrian Esterman, Professor of Biostatistics and Epidemiology, University of South Australia
The next pandemic is already happening – targeted disease surveillance can help prevent it
The next pandemic is already happening – targeted disease surveillance can help prevent it
by Maureen Miller, Adjunct Associate Professor of Epidemiology, Columbia University
I’m fully vaccinated but feel sick – should I get tested for COVID-19?
I’m fully vaccinated but feel sick – should I get tested for COVID-19?
by Arif R. Sarwari, Physician, Associate Professor of Infectious Diseases, Chair of Department of Medicine, West Virginia University

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.