Как сохранить микробиом в кишечнике здоровым для борьбы с COVID-19

Как сохранить микробиом в кишечнике здоровым для борьбы с COVID-19 Средиземноморская диета полезна для здоровья. Мариан Вайо / Shutterstock

Это беспрецедентные времена. COVID-19 (болезнь, вызванная новым коронавирусом SARS-CoV-2) имеет официально объявлена ​​пандемией Всемирной организацией здравоохранения, Многие страны опечатали свои границы и подвергли население добровольной или принудительной изоляции. Культурные и спортивные мероприятия были отменены или отложены - в том числе Евро 2020 и горизонтальное распределение Фестиваль Гластонбери - пабы и рестораны закрываются, а люди паника, покупая основные продукты, такие как туалетная бумага и макароны, Но хотя может показаться, что ситуация вышла из-под контроля, вы все равно можете сделать много вещей, чтобы защитить свое здоровье и здоровье окружающих вас людей.

Прежде всего, следуйте национальным руководство по профилактике COVID-19: избегайте распространения вируса и снижайте свои шансы на его заражение путем регулярного мытья рук, избегания прикосновения к лицу и снижения уровня социальных контактов. Это особенно важно для защиты групп риска, включая людей с имеющимися заболеваниями, пожилых людей и беременных женщин.

Наряду с защитой от вируса извне, вы также можете укрепить свою защиту изнутри, укрепив свою иммунную систему. У многих людей, особенно молодых, развивается только очень легкое заболевание. Иммунная система сложна и очень чувствительна к окружающему нас миру, поэтому неудивительно, что на ее функцию влияют многие факторы. Важно знать, что большинство из этих факторов не жестко закодированы в наших генах но находятся под влиянием образа жизни и окружающего мира.

Одной вещью, которую вы можете немедленно контролировать, является здоровье триллионов микробов, живущих в вашем кишечнике, все вместе известных как микробиом. Недавние исследования показали, что кишечный микробиом играет Существенная роль в иммунном ответе организма на инфекцию и в поддержании общего здоровья. Наряду с усилением реакции на инфекционные патогены, такие как коронавирус, здоровый кишечный микробиом также помогает предотвратить потенциально опасные иммунные избыточные реакции которые повреждают легкие и другие жизненно важные органы, Эти чрезмерные иммунные реакции могут вызвать дыхательную недостаточность и смерть. (Вот почему мы должны говорить о «поддержке», а не о «усилении» иммунной системы, поскольку сверхактивный иммунный ответ может быть таким же рискованным, как и неэффективный).

Здоровый микробиом, здоровая кишка, здоровое тело

Вместо того, чтобы принимать добавки, которые утверждают, что «укрепляют вашу иммунную систему» ​​без каких-либо веских доказательств, пища, которую вы едите, оказывает большое влияние на диапазон и тип микробов в кишечнике. разнообразный микробиом является здоровым микробиомомСодержит много разных видов, каждый из которых играет свою роль в иммунитете и здоровье. Разнообразие микробиомов снижается с возрастомЭто может помочь объяснить некоторые возрастные изменения, которые мы наблюдаем в иммунных реакциях, поэтому еще более необходимо поддерживать здоровый микробиом на протяжении всей жизни.

Мелкие детали взаимодействия между кишечным микробиомом и иммунной системой до конца не изучены. Но, кажется, есть связь между состав микробиома и воспаление - один из признаков иммунного ответа. Кишечные бактерии производят много полезных химических веществ, а также активировать витамин А в еде, которая помогает регулировать иммунную систему.

Как сохранить микробиом в кишечнике здоровым для борьбы с COVID-19 Кишечные бактерии производят много полезных химических веществ. Катерина Кон / Shutterstock

Ешь, чтобы накормить свой микробиом

Лучший способ увеличить разнообразие микробиомов - есть широкий ассортимент растительных продуктов, которые богаты клетчаткой и ограничивают ультра-обработанные продукты, включая нездоровую пищу. После средиземноморской диеты также было показано улучшить разнообразие кишечного микробиома и уменьшить воспаление: есть много фруктов, овощей, орехов, семян и цельного зерна; полезные жиры, такие как высококачественное оливковое масло; и постное мясо или рыба. Избегайте алкоголя, соли, сладостей и сладких напитков, а также искусственных подсластителей или других добавок.

Если вас беспокоит получение свежих продуктов во время самоизоляции или карантина, замороженные фрукты, ягоды и овощи так же здоров, как и их свежие коллеги и продлится намного дольше, чем рекомендуемый в настоящее время двухнедельный период изоляции. Консервированные фрукты, бобы и бобы являются еще одним продолжительным вариантом.

Вы также можете поддерживать свой микробиом, регулярно употребляя натуральные йогурты и творожные сыры, которые содержат живые микробы (Пробиотики). Другим источником натуральных пробиотиков являются бактерии и напитки, богатые дрожжами, такие как кефир (кисломолочное молоко) или чайный гриб (ферментированный чай). Ферментированные растительные продукты, такие как корейское кимчи (и немецкая квашеная капуста), являются еще одним хорошим вариантом.

Если вы делаете покупки для себя, своей семьи или для пожилых родственников или друзей, выбор продуктов, которые поддерживают здоровый кишечный микробиом, гораздо важнее, чем накопление туалетной бумаги. Управление вашим психическим здоровьемфизическая активность и достаточное количество сна также помогут поддерживать иммунную систему в тонусе. И не забывайте мыть руки!

Об авторе

Тим Спектор, профессор генетической эпидемиологии, Королевский колледж в Лондоне

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

books_food

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ПОСЛЕДНИЕ СТАТЬИ

How To Keep Your Gut Microbiome Healthy To Fight COVID-19

How To Keep Your Gut Microbiome Healthy To Fight COVID-19 A Mediterranean diet is good for your gut health. Marian Weyo/Shutterstock

These are unprecedented times. COVID-19 (the illness caused by the new coronavirus SARS-CoV-2) has officially been declared a pandemic by the World Health Organization. Many countries have sealed their borders and put the population under voluntary or enforced lockdown. Cultural and sporting events have been cancelled or postponed – including Euro 2020 and the Glastonbury festival – pubs and restaurants are closing, and people are panic buying staples such as toilet paper and pasta. But although it can feel like the situation is out of control, there are still plenty of things you can do to protect your health and that of the people around you.

First and foremost, follow national guidance for preventing COVID-19: avoid spreading the virus and cut your chances of catching it by regularly washing your hands, avoiding touching your face and reducing social contact. This is particularly important for protecting at-risk groups including people with existing health conditions, the elderly and pregnant women.

As well as protecting yourself from the virus on the outside, you can also build up your defences from the inside by strengthening your immune system. Many people, especially the young, develop only very mild disease. The immune system is complex and highly responsive to the world around us, so it’s not surprising that many factors affect its function. What’s important to know is that most of these factors are not hard-coded in our genes but are influenced by lifestyle and the world around us.

One thing that you can control immediately is the health of the trillions of microbes living in your gut, collectively known as the microbiome. Recent research has shown that the gut microbiome plays an essential role in the body’s immune response to infection and in maintaining overall health. As well as mounting a response to infectious pathogens like coronavirus, a healthy gut microbiome also helps to prevent potentially dangerous immune over-reactions that damage the lungs and other vital organs. These excessive immune responses can cause respiratory failure and death. (This is also why we should talk about “supporting” rather than “boosting” the immune system, as an overactive immune response can be as risky as an underactive one.)


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Healthy microbiome, healthy gut, healthy body

Rather than taking supplements that claim to “boost your immune system” with no good supporting evidence, the food you eat has a big impact on the range and type of microbes in the gut. A diverse microbiome is a healthy microbiome, containing many different species that each play their part in immunity and health. Microbiome diversity declines as you get older, which may help to explain some of the age-related changes we see in immune responses, so it’s even more necessary to maintain a healthy microbiome throughout life.

The fine details of the interactions between the gut microbiome and the immune system are not fully understood. But there seems to be a link between the makeup of the microbiome and inflammation – one of the hallmarks of the immune response. Gut bacteria produce many beneficial chemicals and also activate vitamin A in food, which helps to regulate the immune system.

How To Keep Your Gut Microbiome Healthy To Fight COVID-19 Gut bacteria produce many beneficial chemicals. Kateryna Kon/Shutterstock

Eat to feed your microbiome

The best way to increase microbiome diversity is by eating a wide range of plant-based foods, which are high in fibre, and limiting ultra-processed foods including junk food. Following a Mediterranean diet has also been shown to improve gut microbiome diversity and reduce inflammation: eating plenty of fruit, vegetables, nuts, seeds and whole grains; healthy fats like high-quality extra virgin olive oil; and lean meat or fish. Avoid alcohol, salt, sweets and sugary drinks, and artificial sweeteners or other additives.

If you are concerned about getting hold of fresh produce while self-isolating or quarantined, frozen fruit, berries and vegetables are just as healthy as their fresh counterparts and will last much longer than the currently recommended two-week isolation period. Canned fruit, beans and pulses are another long-lasting option.

You can also support your microbiome by regularly eating natural yoghurt and artisan cheeses, which contain live microbes (probiotics). Another source of natural probiotics are bacteria and yeast-rich drinks like kefir (fermented milk) or kombucha (fermented tea). Fermented vegetable-based foods, such as Korean kimchi (and German sauerkraut) are another good option.

Whether you’re shopping for yourself, your family or for elderly relatives or friends, choosing foods that support a healthy gut microbiome is much more important than stockpiling toilet paper. Managing your mental health, staying physically active and getting enough sleep will also help to keep your immune system in good shape. And don’t forget to wash your hands!

About The Author

Tim Spector, Professor of Genetic Epidemiology, King's College London

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

books_food

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

English Afrikaans Arabic Bengali Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Traditional) Dutch Filipino French German Hindi Indonesian Italian Japanese Javanese Korean Malay Marathi Persian Portuguese Russian Spanish Swahili Swedish Tamil Thai Turkish Ukrainian Urdu Vietnamese

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

MOST READ

Workplaces must recognize its physical and emotional toll
Workplaces must recognize its physical and emotional toll
by Stephanie Gilbert, Assistant Professor of Organizational Management, Cape Breton University
Study shows AI-generated fake reports fool experts
Study shows AI-generated fake reports fool experts
by Priyanka Ranade, PhD Student in Computer Science and Electrical Engineering, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Macular degeneration is a leading cause of blindness. Here's how to prevent it
Macular degeneration is a leading cause of blindness. Here's how to prevent it
by Langis Michaud, Professeur Titulaire. École d'optométrie. Expertise en santé oculaire et usage des lentilles cornéennes spécialisées, Université de Montréal
What is endometriosis? Patients turn to social media for information and support
What is endometriosis? Patients turn to social media for information and support
by Eileen Mary Holowka, PhD Candidate, Communication Studies, Concordia University
Can I get AstraZeneca now and Pfizer later? Why mixing and matching COVID vaccines could help solve many rollout problems
Can I get AstraZeneca now and Pfizer later? Why mixing and matching COVID vaccines could help solve many rollout problems
by Fiona Russell, Senior Principal Research Fellow; paediatrician; infectious diseases epidemiologist, The University of Melbourne
10 steps to get ready for wildfire smoke
10 steps to get ready for wildfire smoke
by Sarah Henderson, Associate Professor (Partner), School of Population and Public Health, University of British Columbia
Close-up of a man's neck with a band holding a small microphone to his throat
Simple, fast, wide-awake diagnosis of sleep apnea could enable better surgical care and improve sleep
by Zahra Moussavi, Professor of Biomedical Engineering, University of Manitoba
The eruption of Mount Nyiragongo: its health effects will be felt for a long time
The eruption of Mount Nyiragongo: its health effects will be felt for a long time
by Patrick de Marie C. Katoto, Lecturer, Université catholique de Bukavu
A health-care worker performs a COVID swab test on a patient.
Why are some COVID test results false positives, and how common are they?
by Adrian Esterman, Professor of Biostatistics and Epidemiology, University of South Australia
The next pandemic is already happening – targeted disease surveillance can help prevent it
The next pandemic is already happening – targeted disease surveillance can help prevent it
by Maureen Miller, Adjunct Associate Professor of Epidemiology, Columbia University
I’m fully vaccinated but feel sick – should I get tested for COVID-19?
I’m fully vaccinated but feel sick – should I get tested for COVID-19?
by Arif R. Sarwari, Physician, Associate Professor of Infectious Diseases, Chair of Department of Medicine, West Virginia University

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.