Вот почему некоторые люди испытывают усталость, тошноту, головные боли после начала диеты кето

Вот почему некоторые люди испытывают усталость, тошноту, головные боли после начала диеты кето Вы можете есть продукты, такие как яйца, авокадо и ягоды на кето диете. Boontoom Sae-Kor / Shutterstock Эндрю Скотт, Портсмутский университет

После того, как мы едим, организм превращает углеводы в сахар крови (известный как глюкоза), который он использует для производства энергии. Но кетогенная диета основана на исследованиях 1920-х годов, которые обнаружили снижение наличие углеводов заставил организм больше полагаться на использование других веществ (например, жира) для получения энергии. Метаболизируя жир для производства глюкозы или энергии, организм генерирует кетоны в процессе - отсюда и термин «кетогенный». Любая диета, содержащая менее 20 г углеводов в день считается кетогенным.

Производство кетонов печенью свидетельствует о том, что жир вместо сахара метаболизируется и что этот жир близок ко всему нашему источнику энергии. Считается, что это коррелирует с потерей веса, но на самом деле коррелирует с измененным профилем инсулина в крови. Является ли эта потеря Усиливает вес по сравнению с другими диетами спорно, так как вывод углеводов приводит потери в организме воды, преувеличивая появление потери веса.

Но многие люди сообщают о том, что испытали нечто, называемое «кето-гриппПосле смены диеты. люди сообщить о симптомах такие как тошнота, запор, головные боли, усталость и тягу к сахару, похож на грипп - кроме сладкой тяги.

Эти побочные эффекты связаны с ключевым понятием кетогенной диеты: отказ от углеводов. Глюкоза (которая производится из продуктов, содержащих углеводы, такие как картофель или хлеб) является основным источником энергии центральная нервная системав том числе мозг. Снижение запасов углеводов приведет к снижению функции, что приведет к головной боли. Тошнота может быть объяснена потреблением большого количества жира. Это потому, что жир занимает много времени переваривать и усваивать.

При употреблении обычной диеты, содержащей углеводы, в крови повышается содержание глюкозы. Это стимулирует рост гормона инсулина, который регулирует уровень сахара в крови и позволяет вашему телу использовать глюкозу для получения энергии. Это снижает присутствие жира в крови и помогает глюкозе проникать в клетки организма. Инсулин также подавляет высвобождение частиц жира из жировых отложений в организме по тому же механизму. Надежда состоит в том, что при употреблении в пищу низкоуглеводных (или не содержащих) углеводов этот механизм будет изменен, что поможет увеличить появление жира в крови и его доступность для других клеток для использования в качестве энергии и приведет к потере жира.

Вот почему некоторые люди испытывают усталость, тошноту, головные боли после начала диеты кето Избегайте сладких фруктов - на кето-диете можно есть только ягоды. Африка Студия / Shutterstock

Высокий уровень выделения инсулина происходит, если человек потребляет большое количество углеводов за один присест. Следовательно, кетогенная диета направлена ​​на снижение инсулиновой реакции за счет чрезмерного ограничения углеводов. Но уменьшение инсулина вызывает увеличение циркулирующих жиров, которые вытесняют аминокислоту, называемую триптофанот своего носителя. Этот циркулирующий триптофан вызывает увеличение серотонина в мозге и увеличение серотонина приводит к усталостидаже когда вы не напрягаете себя много.

Наличие меньшего количества углеводов также является стрессом для организма, так как они предпочтительный источник энергии, Недостаток углеводов стимулирует выделение кортизола - гормона стресса. Количество кортизола, выделяемого организмом, зависит от размера стрессора. Кортизол высвобождает жиры и белки из тканей организма, что является целью кетогенной диеты. Эти питательные вещества затем метаболизируются печенью с образованием углеводов. Однако секреция кортизола может стать утомленной в результате этой стрессовой обстановки. С кортизолом помогает повысить иммунную функцию, тело может быть более склонным к инфекциям, таким как простуда.

Продукты, богатые углеводами, часто содержат витамины, минералы и клетчатка, Мы требуем 30 г клетчатки в день и, если мы не потребляем достаточно, наше пищеварительное здоровье страдает, что приводит к запорам. Отсутствие в кетогенной диете пищевых продуктов, богатых клетчаткой, таких как печеный картофель и яблоки, может привести к запорам, еще одному зарегистрированному симптому «кето-гриппа».

Исключение таких продуктов из рациона также ограничивает витамины и минералы, которые играют роль во всех аспектах клеточной функции, в частности, в иммунной функции. Сладкие фрукты с высоким содержанием витамина С (такие как апельсины) избегают в кетогенной диете. Низкий уровень витамина С может также вызвать повышенный риск инфекцийтипа простуды.

Кетогенные диеты иногда клинически рекомендуются для лечения некоторых заболеваний, таких как эпилепсия, Считается, что поддержание постоянный низкий уровень глюкозы в крови и производство кетонов будет поддерживать центральную нервную систему через многочисленные молекулярные механизмы, уменьшая судороги.

Но для большинства людей побочные эффекты таких диет не стоят потенциальных выгод. Такие диеты часто являются неустойчивыми, если религиозно придерживаться низкого уровня потребления углеводов или вообще не принимать его из-за кратковременной и долгосрочной тяги к сахару.

Хотя кето-диета может работать для некоторых, сбалансированная диета, включающая белое мясо, рыбу, фрукты и овощи и избегать готовых или обработанных продуктов все еще эффективный способ управлять или похудеть. Получение достаточного количества упражнений также может помочь контролировать вес, одновременно улучшая аэробную и мышечную форму. Это приведет к улучшение сердечно-сосудистой системы и снизить риск развития диабета 2 типа.Беседа

Об авторе

Эндрю Скотт, старший преподаватель кафедры прикладных упражнений, Портсмутский университет

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

books_food

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ПОСЛЕДНИЕ СТАТЬИ

Here's Why Some People Experience Fatigue, Nausea, Headaches After Starting A Keto Diet

Here's Why Some People Experience Fatigue, Nausea, Headaches After Starting A Keto Diet You’re allowed to eat foods like eggs, avocados and berries on the keto diet. Boontoom Sae-Kor/ Shutterstock Andrew Scott, University of Portsmouth

After we eat, the body converts carbohydrates into blood sugar (known as glucose), which it uses for energy. But the ketogenic diet is based on research from the 1920s that found lowering the availability of carbohydrates made the body rely more on using other substances (such as fat) for energy. By metabolising fat to produce glucose or energy, the body generates ketones in the process – hence the term “ketogenic”. Any diet containing less than 20g per day of carbohydrate is deemed to be ketogenic.

The production of ketones by the liver indicates that fat, instead of sugar, is being metabolised and that this fat is close to our entire source of energy. This is thought to correlate to weight loss but really correlates with an altered blood insulin profile. Whether this enhances weight loss compared to other diets is debatable, since withdrawal of carbohydrates results in losses in body water, exaggerating the appearance of weight loss.

But many people report experiencing something called the “keto flu” after changing their diet. People report symptoms such as nausea, constipation, headaches, fatigue and sugar cravings, similar to influenza – apart from the sugar cravings.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

These side effects are related to the key concept of the ketogenic diet: carbohydrate withdrawal. Glucose (which is produced from foods containing carbohydrates, such as potatoes or bread) is the primary energy source of the central nervous system, including the brain. A reduced supply of carbohydrates will result in reduced function, leading to headaches. Nausea can be explained through consuming high volumes of fat. This is because fat takes a long time to digest and absorb.

When eating a conventional diet that includes carbohydrates, glucose increases in the blood. This stimulates a rise in the hormone insulin, which regulates blood sugar levels and allows your body to use the glucose for energy. It lowers the presence of fat in the blood, and helps glucose enter the body’s cells. Insulin also suppresses the release of fat particles from fat stores in the body by the same mechanism. The hope is that by eating low (or no) carbs, this mechanism will be reversed, helping to increase the appearance of fat in the blood and its availability to other cells to use for energy and result in fat loss.

Here's Why Some People Experience Fatigue, Nausea, Headaches After Starting A Keto Diet Avoid sugary fruit – only berries can be eaten on the keto diet. Africa Studio/ Shutterstock

A high level of insulin release occurs if a person consumes a large volume of carbohydrates in a single sitting. Therefore, the ketogenic diet aims to reduce the insulin response through excessive carbohydrate restriction. But reducing insulin causes an increase in circulating fats that displace an amino acid, called tryptophan, from its carrier. This circulating tryptophan causes an increase in serotonin in the brain and the increase in serotonin results in fatigue, even when you aren’t exerting yourself much.

Having fewer carbohydrates to use is also a stressor to the body, since they’re the body’s preferred energy source. The lack of carbohydrates stimulates the release of cortisol – a stress hormone. The amount of cortisol the body releases depends on the size of the stressor. Cortisol releases fats and proteins from tissues in the body, which is the aim of the ketogenic diet. These nutrients are then metabolised by the liver to produce carbohydrates. However, cortisol secretion can become fatigued as a result of this stressed environment. Since cortisol helps increase immune function, the body may be more prone to infections, such as the common cold.

Carbohydrate-rich foods often contain vitamins, minerals and fibre. We require 30g of fibre per day and, if we don’t consume enough, our digestive health suffers, leading to constipation. The lack of fibre-rich foods in the ketogenic diet – such as baked potatoes and apples – may result in constipation, another reported symptom of the “keto flu”.

Removing such foods from the diet also limits vitamins and minerals, which play a role in all aspects of cellular function – particularly immune function. Sugary fruits that are high in vitamin C (such as oranges) are avoided in the ketogenic diet. Low levels of vitamin C might also cause increased risk of infections, such as the common cold.

Ketogenic diets are sometimes clinically recommended for managing some medical conditions, such as epilepsy. It’s thought that maintaining a constant low blood glucose level and the production of ketones will maintain the central nervous system through numerous molecular mechanisms, reducing seizures.

But for most people the side effects of such diets aren’t worth the potential benefits. Such diets are often unsustainable if religiously adhering to low or no carbohydrate intake because of the short and long-term sugar cravings.

Though the keto diet might work for some, a balanced diet including white meat, fish, fruits and vegetables and avoiding pre-made or processed foods is still an effective way to manage or lose weight. Getting enough exercise can also help manage weight, while improving aerobic and muscular fitness. This will lead to improved cardiovascular health and decrease the risk of developing type 2 diabetes.The Conversation

About The Author

Andrew Scott, Senior Lecturer in Applied Exercise Science, University of Portsmouth

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

books_food

You May Also Like

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

English Afrikaans Arabic Bengali Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Traditional) Dutch Filipino French German Hindi Indonesian Italian Japanese Javanese Korean Malay Marathi Persian Portuguese Russian Spanish Swahili Swedish Tamil Thai Turkish Ukrainian Urdu Vietnamese

follow InnerSelf on

facebook icontwitter iconyoutube iconinstagram iconpintrest iconrss icon

 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

MOST READ

Workplaces must recognize its physical and emotional toll
Workplaces must recognize its physical and emotional toll
by Stephanie Gilbert, Assistant Professor of Organizational Management, Cape Breton University
Study shows AI-generated fake reports fool experts
Study shows AI-generated fake reports fool experts
by Priyanka Ranade, PhD Student in Computer Science and Electrical Engineering, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Macular degeneration is a leading cause of blindness. Here's how to prevent it
Macular degeneration is a leading cause of blindness. Here's how to prevent it
by Langis Michaud, Professeur Titulaire. École d'optométrie. Expertise en santé oculaire et usage des lentilles cornéennes spécialisées, Université de Montréal
What is endometriosis? Patients turn to social media for information and support
What is endometriosis? Patients turn to social media for information and support
by Eileen Mary Holowka, PhD Candidate, Communication Studies, Concordia University
Can I get AstraZeneca now and Pfizer later? Why mixing and matching COVID vaccines could help solve many rollout problems
Can I get AstraZeneca now and Pfizer later? Why mixing and matching COVID vaccines could help solve many rollout problems
by Fiona Russell, Senior Principal Research Fellow; paediatrician; infectious diseases epidemiologist, The University of Melbourne
10 steps to get ready for wildfire smoke
10 steps to get ready for wildfire smoke
by Sarah Henderson, Associate Professor (Partner), School of Population and Public Health, University of British Columbia
Close-up of a man's neck with a band holding a small microphone to his throat
Simple, fast, wide-awake diagnosis of sleep apnea could enable better surgical care and improve sleep
by Zahra Moussavi, Professor of Biomedical Engineering, University of Manitoba
The eruption of Mount Nyiragongo: its health effects will be felt for a long time
The eruption of Mount Nyiragongo: its health effects will be felt for a long time
by Patrick de Marie C. Katoto, Lecturer, Université catholique de Bukavu
A health-care worker performs a COVID swab test on a patient.
Why are some COVID test results false positives, and how common are they?
by Adrian Esterman, Professor of Biostatistics and Epidemiology, University of South Australia
The next pandemic is already happening – targeted disease surveillance can help prevent it
The next pandemic is already happening – targeted disease surveillance can help prevent it
by Maureen Miller, Adjunct Associate Professor of Epidemiology, Columbia University
I’m fully vaccinated but feel sick – should I get tested for COVID-19?
I’m fully vaccinated but feel sick – should I get tested for COVID-19?
by Arif R. Sarwari, Physician, Associate Professor of Infectious Diseases, Chair of Department of Medicine, West Virginia University

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.