Будет ли домашняя кухня возвращаться?

Будет ли домашняя кухня возвращаться? Согласно новому исследованию, самоизоляция может означать, что многие канадцы будут вынуждены проводить больше времени на кухне, в месте, которое было чуждо большинству тысячелетий. (Шаттерстки)

Это беспрецедентные времена. Поскольку мы имеем дело с текущей пандемией коронавируса, мы обнаруживаем, что наши обычные процедуры и привычки изменяются и нарушаются. Не очень изящные проявления покупка паники были замечены почти везде. Люди импульсивно опустошали полки, иррационально.

Карантин, отмена, закрытие и социальное дистанцирование держат людей дома, чтобы замедлить распространение болезни. В этой печальной ситуации положительным моментом может быть то, что люди будут проводить больше времени на своих кухнях, место, где меньше канадцев рискнули в последние годы.

Доказательства того, что Канадцы проводят меньше времени на кухне, Согласно статистике Канады, 54 процента канадцев питаются вне дома раз в неделю или больше; 40 процентов говорят, что едят вне дома для удобства, у них нет времени готовить, они не любят или не умеют готовить.

Кулинария - это фантазия для многих

Средний канадец теперь может смотреть по телевизору более 250 часов кулинарных шоу или шоу, связанных с едой. Несколько сетей посвящены исключительно еде. Тем не менее, приготовление пищи - это просто фантазия для растущего числа канадцев.

Время было недобрым для кухонь. В опросе, который мы провели в Agri-Food Analytics Lab в Университете Далхаузи95 процентов людей, родившихся до 1946 года, указали, что в детстве они ели пищу, приготовленную родителями или опекуном дома. Этот процент значительно снизился в течение нескольких поколений.

Будет ли домашняя кухня возвращаться? Пустые полки закрытого продовольственного магазина в Северном Ванкувере, Британская Колумбия. Паническая покупка была одним из неблагоприятных побочных эффектов пандемии коронавируса. КАНАДСКАЯ ПРЕССА / Джонатан Хейворд

Millennials не были подвержены домашним блюдам так же, как и поколение Z. Около 64 процентов millennials регулярно ели домашние блюда, когда росли, по сравнению с 55 процентами для поколения Z. Это говорит о том, что у более молодых поколений разные благодарность за кухню и за то, как еда готовится и потребляется дома. Пандемия COVID-19 потенциально может познакомить молодые поколения с пространством, которое кажется им чуждым.

Больше времени дома может быть полезным для всех нас. В том же опросе, проведенном Университетом Далхаузи, 68.4% заявили, что хотели бы проводить больше времени в приготовлении пищи дома. С текущими мерами общественной безопасности многие будут получать свое желание.

Давайте возьмем кулинарные книги с журнального столика

Читать кулинарную книгу - все равно что смотреть хороший фильм, Мы можем спроецировать себя в историю, вообразить, что мы можем делать то, что никогда не считали возможным, заставляя нас мечтать. Некоторые кулинарные книги в наши дни являются произведениями искусства. Но многие кулинарные книги используются в качестве журнальных столиков. COVID-19 может изменить это.

Поскольку мы вынуждены проводить больше времени дома, и благодаря безопасному расположению продуктов в шкафах и морозильных камерах, возможность ежедневно посещать наши кухни никогда не была такой хорошей. У канадцев есть непрочитанные кулинарные книги и недостаточно использованные кухонные инструменты. Теперь у них есть время заняться делами на кухне. Приготовление пищи также может быть деятельностью, которая объединяет членов семьи и соседей по комнате; приготовление пищи и совместная еда могут стать прекрасным опытом общения.

Мы справимся с этим, выслушав наших компетентных работников здравоохранения и оставаясь дома. А пока давайте отряхнем наши кулинарные книги и познакомимся с одной комнатой, которую по праву можно считать сердцем любого дома: кухней.Беседа

Об авторе

Сильвен Шарлебуа, директор лаборатории агропродовольственной аналитики, профессор по вопросам распределения продуктов питания и политики, Университет Далхаузи

Эта статья переиздана из Беседа под лицензией Creative Commons. Прочтите оригинал статьи.

books_food

Следуйте за InnerSelf

facebook-значокTwitter-значокНовости-значок

Получить последнее по электронной почте

{Emailcloak = выкл}

ПОСЛЕДНИЕ СТАТЬИ

Will Home Cooking Make A Comeback?

Will Home Cooking Make A comeback? Self-isolating may mean many Canadians will be forced to spend more time in the kitchen, a place that’s been foreign to most millennials, according to a new survey. (Shutterstock)

These are unprecedented times. As we deal with the current coronavirus pandemic, we find our regular routines and habits altered and disrupted. Not-so-graceful displays of panic buying have been seen almost everywhere. People have been impulsively emptying shelves, irrationally.

Quarantines, cancellations, closures and social distancing are keeping people at home to slow the spread of the disease. One positive thing coming out of this unfortunate situation could be that people will spend more time in their kitchens, a place where fewer Canadians have ventured in recent years.

The evidence suggesting that Canadians are spending less time in the kitchen is mounting. According to Statistics Canada, 54 per cent of Canadians eat out once a week or more; 40 per cent say they eat out for convenience, have no time to cook or do not like or know how to cook.

Cooking is a fantasy for many

The average Canadian can now watch over 250 hours of cooking or food related shows a week on television. A few networks are solely devoted to food. Still, cooking is just a fantasy for a growing number of Canadians.


 Get The Latest By Email

Weekly Magazine Daily Inspiration

Time has been unkind to kitchens. In a survey we conducted at the Agri-Food Analytics Lab at Dalhousie University, 95 per cent of people born before 1946 indicated they ate meals prepared by parents or a caregiver at home when growing up. That percentage dropped significantly over the generations.

Will Home Cooking Make A Comeback? The empty shelves of a shut-down food shop in North Vancouver, B.C. Panic buying has been one of the unfortunate side effects of the coronavirus pandemic. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward

Millennials were not exposed to home-cooked meals as much, and neither was generation Z. About 64 per cent of millennials regularly ate home-cooked meals when growing up, compared to 55 per cent for gen Z. This suggests younger generations have a different appreciation for the kitchen and how food is prepared and consumed at home. The COVID-19 pandemic could potentially make younger generations more familiar with a space which seems foreign to them.

More time at home could be a benefit for all of us. In that same survey conducted by Dalhousie University, 68.4 per cent said they would like to spend more time preparing food at home. With the current public safety measures, many will be getting their wish.

Let’s get cookbooks off the coffee table

Reading a cookbook is like watching a good movie. We can project ourselves into the story, imagine we can do things we never thought possible, making us dream. Some cookbooks these days are works of art. But many cookbooks are used as coffee table books. COVID-19 could change that.

As we are forced to spend more time at home, and with provisions safely nestled in cupboards and freezers, the opportunity to revisit our kitchens daily has never been so good. Equipped with unread cookbooks and underused kitchen tools, Canadians now have time to take action in the kitchen. Cooking could also be an activity that brings family members and roommates together; cooking and eating together can be a wonderful bonding experience.

We will get through this by listening to our competent public health officials and staying home. In the meantime, let’s dust off our cookbooks and get reacquainted with the one room that can truly be considered the heart of anyone’s home: the kitchen.The Conversation

About The Author

Sylvain Charlebois, Director, Agri-Food Analytics Lab, Professor in Food Distribution and Policy, Dalhousie University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read the original article.

books_food

More By This Author

AVAILABLE LANGUAGES

English Afrikaans Arabic Chinese (Simplified) Chinese (Traditional) Danish Dutch Filipino Finnish French German Greek Hebrew Hindi Hungarian Indonesian Italian Japanese Korean Malay Norwegian Persian Polish Portuguese Romanian Russian Spanish Swahili Swedish Thai Turkish Ukrainian Urdu Vietnamese

Saturday, 03 April 2021 08:08

Coffee, green tea and other caffeinated drinks are a popular way to start the morning. Not only does it give many people a much-needed boost, but caffeine can also help when it comes to fitness.

Friday, 14 May 2021 08:30

Fertility has declined in most industrialised countries. While the causes are largely unknown, a number of factors may contribute to declining fertility rates, including the age...

Tuesday, 27 April 2021 08:56

Peas, lentils, chickpeas, beans and peanuts: if it comes in a pod then chances are it’s a legume. These unassuming food crops have a special ability that makes them fairly unique in the plant...

Friday, 14 May 2021 16:24

The chakras set the frequencies that give rise to every aspect of the human experience. The foods we eat have consciousness and provide an energetic blueprint that stabilizes and entrains...

Saturday, 01 May 2021 08:12

High-intensity interval training (HIIT) workouts have become popular in recent years for a number of reasons. They don’t require as much time as a regular workout (some can take as little as 10...

Friday, 21 May 2021 10:09

The humble potato has been given a bad rap. What was once a cheap staple of many countries’ diets has instead been branded in recent years an “unhealthy” food best avoided.

New Attitudes - New Possibilities

InnerSelf.comClimateImpactNews.com | InnerPower.net
MightyNatural.com | WholisticPolitics.com | InnerSelf Market
Copyright ©1985 - 2021 InnerSelf Publications. All Rights Reserved.