نباتات 3 من الدليل الطبي للحرب الأهلية الأمريكية الذي يحارب العدوى

نباتات 3 من الدليل الطبي للحرب الأهلية الأمريكية الذي يحارب العدوىمستشفى ميداني في جيتيسبيرغ. (الائتمان: خدمة الحديقة الوطنية)

هناك ثلاثة نباتات من دليل العلاجات التقليدية للنباتات في الجنوب والتي قام بها الجراح الكونفدرالي العام في ذروة الحرب الأهلية لها خصائص مطهرة ، وفقًا للبحث الجديد.

أظهرت النتائج أن المقتطفات من النباتات - البلوط الأبيض ، وحور الخزامى ، وعصا المشي للشيطان - لها نشاط مضاد للميكروبات ضد واحد أو أكثر من ثلاثة أنواع خطيرة من البكتيريا المقاومة للعقاقير المتعددة المرتبطة بالتهابات الجرح: راكدة بومانية, المكورات العنقودية الذهبية، و الكلبسيلة الرئوية.

يقول المؤلف الكبير كاساندرا كواف ، الأستاذ المساعد في مركز دراسة صحة الإنسان ومدرسة الطب: "تشير نتائجنا إلى أن استخدام هذه العلاجات الموضعية ربما يكون قد أنقذ بعض الأطراف ، وربما حتى الأرواح ، أثناء الحرب الأهلية". قسم الأمراض الجلدية بجامعة إيموري.

Quave هو عالم إثني يدرس كيفية استخدام الناس للنباتات في ممارسات الشفاء التقليدية للكشف عن المرشحين الواعدين للأدوية الجديدة. "إن Ethnobotany هو أساسًا علم البقاء - كيف يحصل الناس عليه عندما يقتصرون على ما هو متاح في بيئتهم المباشرة" ، كما تقول. "دليل الحرب الأهلية لزرع العلاجات هو مثال رائع على ذلك."

يقول Micah Dettweiler ، أول مؤلف للصحيفة في: "قد يفيد بحثنا يومًا العناية الحديثة بالجروح ، إذا تمكنا من تحديد المركبات المسؤولة عن نشاط مضادات الميكروبات". تقارير علمية.

إذا تمكن الباحثون من تحديد المكونات النشطة ، "آمل أن نتمكن بعد ذلك من [اختبار] هذه الجزيئات في نماذجنا المشهورة عالمياً للعدوى البكتيرية" ، كما يقول المؤلف المشارك دانييل زوراوسكي ، رئيس قسم الإمراض والفوعة في قسم العدوى بالجروح في معهد وولتر ريد للبحوث التابع للجيش.

يضيف زوراوسكي: "لقد كنت دائمًا من هواة الحرب الأهلية". "أنا أيضًا أؤمن إيمانا راسخا بتعلم كل شيء يمكننا كسبه من الماضي حتى نتمكن من الاستفادة الآن من معرفة وحكمة أسلافنا".

كان ديتويلر لا يزال طالبًا جامعيًا في جامعة إيموري عندما سمع عن دليل مصنع الحرب الأهلية وقرر البحث عن أطروحة تكريمه. تخرج منذ ذلك الحين بدرجة علمية في علم الأحياء ويعمل الآن كأخصائي أبحاث في مختبر Quave.

يقول: "لقد فوجئت بمعرفة أن عدد جنود الحرب الأهلية الذين ماتوا بسبب المرض يفوق عددهم بكثير في المعارك". "لقد فوجئت أيضًا بمدى بتر الأعضاء كعلاج طبي للجرح المصاب".

عاد حوالي واحد من جنود 13 الباقين على قيد الحياة من الحرب الأهلية إلى بلادهم مع وجود واحد أو أكثر من الأطراف المفقودة ، وفقًا لمنظمة American Battlefield Trust.

نباتات 3 من الدليل الطبي للحرب الأهلية الأمريكية الذي يحارب العدوىفرانسيس بورشر ، عالم نبات وجراح من ساوث كارولينا ، تم تجميعه موارد الحقول الجنوبية والغابات، والتي تضمنت العلاجات النباتية التي استخدمها الأمريكيون الأصليون والأفارقة المستعبدين. نسخة 1863 هذه مأخوذة من مخطوطة ستيوارت أ. روز ومحفوظات ومكتبة الكتب النادرة. (الائتمان: إيموري)

في وقت الحرب الأهلية ، من 1861 إلى 1865 ، كانت نظرية الجراثيم في مراحلها التنموية وبدأت تدريجيًا في اكتساب القبول. وكان التدريب الطبي الرسمي للأطباء في مهده. تم تعريف المطهر ببساطة على أنه منشط يستخدم لمنع "إفساد الجسد". تم استخدام اليود والبروم في بعض الأحيان لعلاج الالتهابات ، وفقًا للمتحف الوطني لطب الحرب الأهلية ، على الرغم من أن سبب فعاليته غير معروف.

وشملت الأدوية التقليدية الأخرى المتاحة في ذلك الوقت الكينين ، لعلاج الملاريا ، والمورفين والكلوروفورم ، لمنع الألم.

ومع ذلك ، لم تتمكن المستشفيات الميدانية العسكرية داخل الكونفدرالية من الوصول بشكل موثوق إلى هذه الأدوية بسبب الحصار — راقبت البحرية الفيدرالية عن كثب الموانئ الرئيسية في الجنوب لمنع الاتحاد من التداول.

طلبًا للبدائل ، كلفت الكونفدرالية فرانسيس بورشر ، عالم النبات والجراح من ساوث كارولينا ، بتجميع كتاب للنباتات الطبية في الولايات الجنوبية ، بما في ذلك العلاجات النباتية التي يستخدمها الأمريكيون الأصليون والأفارقة المستعبدون. "موارد الحقول الجنوبية والغابات" ، التي نشرت في 1863 ، كانت خلاصة رئيسية لاستخدامات النباتات المختلفة ، بما في ذلك وصف أنواع 37 لعلاج الغرغرينا وغيرها من الإصابات. استمد صموئيل مور ، الجراح العام الكونفدرالي ، من عمل بورشر لإنتاج وثيقة تسمى "جدول العرض القياسي للعلاجات الأصلية للخدمة الميدانية والمرضى في المستشفيات العامة".

نباتات 3 من الدليل الطبي للحرب الأهلية الأمريكية الذي يحارب العدوىتستخدم خريطة للرسوم المتحركة ، تم إنشاؤها في 1861 ، ثعبانًا لتوضيح خطة الجنرال وينفيلد سكوت لسحق الكونفدرالية اقتصاديًا من خلال الحصار ، الذي يطلق عليه أحيانًا "خطة أناكوندا". (الائتمان: مكتبة الكونجرس) عرض أكبر.

بالنسبة للدراسة الحالية ، ركز الباحثون على ثلاثة أنواع نباتية مستشهد بها Porcher للاستخدام المطهر الذي ينمو في Lullwater Preserve في حرم Emory. تضمنت شجرتين من الأخشاب الصلبة الشائعة - البلوط الأبيض (البلوط الأبيض) وحزام الخزامى (Liriodendron tulipifera) - وكذلك شجيرة خشبية شائكة تعرف باسم عصا المشي للشيطان (Aralia سبينوز).

يجمع الباحثون عينات من هذه النباتات الثلاثة من عينات الحرم الجامعي ، بناءً على مواصفات Porcher. أخذوا مقتطفات من لحاء البلوط الأبيض والكرات؛ أوراق الحور الخزامى ، اللحاء الداخلي للجذور ولحاء الفرع ؛ وأوراق الشيطان عصا المشي. ثم قاموا باختبار المقتطفات على ثلاثة أنواع من البكتيريا المقاومة للعقاقير المتعددة التي توجد عادة في التهابات الجرح.

Aceinetobacter baumannii- يُعرف باسم "عراق" بسبب ارتباطه بالقوات القتالية الجريحة التي عادت من حرب العراق - يُظهر مقاومة واسعة النطاق لمعظم المضادات الحيوية في الخط الأول. يقول كواف: "لقد ظهر كخطر كبير للجنود الذين يتعافون من جروح المعارك والمستشفيات بشكل عام".

المكورات العنقودية الذهبية يعتبر أخطر أنواع بكتيريا العنقوديات الشائعة ويمكن أن ينتشر من التهابات الجلد أو الأجهزة الطبية عبر مجرى الدم ويصيب الأعضاء البعيدة. الكلبسيلة الرئوية هو سبب رئيسي آخر للعدوى في المستشفى ويمكن أن يؤدي إلى حالات تهدد الحياة من الالتهاب الرئوي والصدمة الإنتانية.

وأظهرت الاختبارات المعملية أن المستخلصات من البلوط الأبيض وحزام الخزامى حالت دون نمو S. aureus ، في حين أن مستخلصات البلوط الأبيض حالت دون نمو أ. بوماني و K. الرئوية. مقتطفات من كل من هذه النباتات تمنع أيضا س. الذهبية من تشكيل الأغشية الحيوية ، والتي يمكن أن تتصرف كدرع ضد المضادات الحيوية.

تمنع مقتطفات من عصا المشي للشيطان كلا من تشكيل الغشاء الحيوي واستشعار النصاب س. الذهبية. يعد استشعار النصاب نظامًا للإشارات تستخدمه البكتيريا العنقوديات لتصنيع السموم وزيادة الفوعة. إعاقة هذا النظام بشكل أساسي "ينزع سلاح" البكتيريا.

غالبًا ما يتم رفض العلاجات النباتية التقليدية إذا لم تهاجم وتقتل مسببات الأمراض ، مضيفًا: "هناك العديد من الطرق للمساعدة في علاج الالتهابات ، ونحن بحاجة إلى التركيز عليها في عصر البكتيريا المقاومة للعقاقير".

يقول ديتويلر: "تتمتع النباتات بثروة كبيرة من التنوع الكيميائي ، وهو سبب آخر لحماية البيئات الطبيعية". يخطط للذهاب إلى مدرسة الدراسات العليا مع التركيز على البحث عن النباتات للأغراض الطبية أو الزراعية. "أنا مهتم بالنباتات ، على الرغم من أنها لا تنتقل من مكان إلى آخر ، فهي قوية ومهمة للغاية."

منحت هوارد هيوز برنامج تعليم العلوم من معهد هوارد هيوز الطبي إلى إيموري ومنحاً من المعاهد الوطنية للصحة والمركز الوطني للصحة التكميلية والتكاملية ومن المعهد الوطني للحساسية والأمراض المعدية.

مصدر: جامعة إيموري

كتب ذات صلة

اتبع InnerSelf على

الفيسبوك أيقونةتويتر أيقونةآر إس إس أيقونة

احصل على آخر عبر البريد الإلكتروني

{Emailcloak = إيقاف}

الأكثر قراءة

3 Plants From U.S. Civil War Medical Guide That Fight Infection

3 Plants From U.S. Civil War Medical Guide That Fight InfectionA field hospital at Gettysburg. (Credit: National Park Service)

Three plants from a guide to traditional plant remedies of the South that the Confederate Surgeon General commissioned during the height of the Civil War have antiseptic properties, according to new research.

The results show that extracts from the plants—the white oak, the tulip poplar, and the devil’s walking stick—have antimicrobial activity against one or more of a trio of dangerous species of multi-drug-resistant bacteria associated with wound infections: Acinetobacter baumannii, Staphylococcus aureus, and Klebsiella pneumoniae.

“Our findings suggest that the use of these topical therapies may have saved some limbs, and maybe even lives, during the Civil War,” says senior author Cassandra Quave, assistant professor at the Center for the Study of Human Health and the School of Medicine’s dermatology department at Emory University.

Quave is an ethnobotanist who studies how people use plants in traditional healing practices to uncover promising candidates for new drugs. “Ethnobotany is essentially the science of survival—how people get by when limited to what’s available in their immediate environment,” she says. “The Civil War guide to plant remedies is a great example of that.”

“Our research might one day benefit modern wound care, if we can identify which compounds are responsible for the antimicrobial activity,” says Micah Dettweiler, the first author of the paper in Scientific Reports.

If researchers can identify the active ingredients, “it is my hope that we can then [further] test these molecules in our world-renowned models of bacterial infection,” says coauthor Daniel Zurawski, chief of pathogenesis and virulence for the Wound Infections Department at the Walter Reed Army Institute of Research.

“I’ve always been a Civil War buff,” Zurawski adds. “I am also a firm believer in learning everything we can garner from the past so we can benefit now from the knowledge and wisdom of our ancestors.”

Dettweiler was still an Emory undergraduate when he heard about the Civil War plant guide and decided to research it for his honors thesis. He has since graduated with a degree in biology and now works as a research specialist in the Quave lab.

“I was surprised to learn that far more Civil War soldiers died from disease than in battle,” he says. “I was also surprised at how common amputation was as a medical treatment for an infected wound.”

About one in 13 surviving Civil War soldiers went home with one or more missing limbs, according to the American Battlefield Trust.

3 Plants From U.S. Civil War Medical Guide That Fight InfectionFrancis Porcher, a botanist and surgeon from South Carolina, compiled Resources of the Southern Fields and Forests, which included plant remedies that Native Americans and enslaved Africans used. This 1863 copy is from the Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives and Rare Book Library. (Credit: Emory)

At the time of the Civil War, from 1861 to 1865, germ theory was in its developmental stages and only gradually beginning to gain acceptance. Formal medical training for physicians was also in its infancy. An antiseptic was simply defined as a tonic used to prevent “mortification of the flesh.” Iodine and bromine were sometimes used to treat infections, according to the National Museum of Civil War Medicine, although the reason for their effectiveness was unknown.

Other conventional medicines available at the time included quinine, for treating malaria, and morphine and chloroform, to block pain.

Military field hospitals within the Confederacy, however, did not have reliable access to these medicines due to a blockade—the Union Navy closely monitored the major ports of the South to prevent the Confederacy from trading.

Seeking alternatives, the Confederacy commissioned Francis Porcher, a botanist and surgeon from South Carolina, to compile a book of medicinal plants of the Southern states, including plant remedies used by Native Americans and enslaved Africans. “Resources of the Southern Fields and Forests,” published in 1863, was a major compendium of uses for different plants, including a description of 37 species for treating gangrene and other infections. Samuel Moore, the Confederate Surgeon General, drew from Porcher’s work to produce a document called “Standard supply table of the indigenous remedies for field service and the sick in general hospitals.”

3 Plants From U.S. Civil War Medical Guide That Fight InfectionA cartoon map, created in 1861, uses a snake to illustrate Gen. Winfield Scott’s plan to crush the Confederacy economically through a blockade, sometimes called the “Anaconda plan.” (Credit: Library of Congress) View larger.

For the current study, the researchers focused on three plant species Porcher cited for antiseptic use that grow in Lullwater Preserve on the Emory campus. They included two common hardwood trees—the white oak (Quercus alba) and the tulip poplar (Liriodendron tulipifera)—as well as a thorny, woody shrub commonly known as the devil’s walking stick (Aralia spinose).

Researchers gathers samples of these three plants from campus specimens, based on Porcher’s specifications. They took the extracts from white oak bark and galls; tulip poplar leaves, root inner bark and branch bark; and the devil’s walking stick leaves. They then tested the extracts on three species of multi-drug-resistant bacteria commonly found in wound infections.

Aceinetobacter baumannii—better known as “Iraqibacter” due to its association with wounded combat troops returning from the Iraq War—exhibits extensive resistance to most first-line antibiotics. “It’s emerging as a major threat for soldiers recovering from battle wounds and for hospitals in general,” Quave says.

Staphylococcus aureus is considered the most dangerous of many common staph bacteria and can spread from skin infections or medical devices through the bloodstream and infect distant organs. Klebsiella pneumoniae is another leading cause of hospital infection and can result in life-threatening cases of pneumonia and septic shock.

Laboratory tests showed that extracts from the white oak and tulip poplar inhibited the growth of S. aureus, while the white oak extracts also inhibited the growth of A. baumannii and K. pneumoniae. Extracts from both of these plants also inhibited S. aureus from forming biofilms, which can act like a shield against antibiotics.

Extracts from the devil’s walking stick inhibited both biofilm formation and quorum sensing in S. aureus. Quorum sensing is a signaling system that staph bacteria use to manufacture toxins and ramp up virulence. Blocking this system essentially “disarms” the bacteria.

Traditional plant remedies are often dismissed if they don’t actively attack and kill pathogens, Quave notes, adding: “There are many more ways to help cure infections, and we need to focus on them in the era of drug-resistant bacteria.”

“Plants have a great wealth of chemical diversity, which is one more reason to protect natural environments,” Dettweiler says. He plans to go to graduate school with a focus on researching plants for either medical or agricultural purposes. “I’m interested in plants because, even though they don’t move from place to place, they are extremely powerful and important.”

A Howard Hughes Medical Institute Science Education Program award to Emory and grants from the National Institutes of Health, National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health, and from the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Disease supported the study.

Source: Emory University

Related Books


Sale Price: $93.95 $80.81 You save: $13.14
View more offers Buy New From: $79.10 Used From: $84.35



Sale Price: $52.95 $48.82 You save: $4.13
View more offers Buy New From: $38.72 Used From: $14.68



Sale Price: $93.95 $74.94 You save: $19.01
View more offers Buy New From: $74.42 Used From: $40.73


follow InnerSelf on

facebook-icontwitter-iconrss-icon

 Get The Latest By Email

{emailcloak=off}