عزيز طبيعي

تنقح Purdue Pharma تاريخ مذهب من الغش الصيدلاني

تنقح Purdue Pharma تاريخ مذهب من الغش الصيدلاني إعلان كولير ، ديسمبر ، 1905 ، بعد نشر مقالات عن الاحتيال في الطب البراءات. ويكيميديا ​​كومنز

مكشوف حديثا وثائق من دعوى قضائية من ولاية ماساتشوستس يزعم أن بوردو فارما ، صانع OxyContin وغيرها من المواد الأفيونية التي تسبب الإدمان ، استنشقت بنشاط طرق جديدة شريرة للاستفادة من أزمة المواد الأفيونية.

رغم سنوات من تغطية صحفية سلبية، والاهتمام غير المرغوب فيه من المنظمين ، وملايين الدولارات غرامة والعديد من الرئيسية الدعاوى القضائية، سعى موظفو بوردو وأصحابها إلى توسيع معالم الشركة بما يتجاوز المجموعة المعتادة من مسكنات الألم الأفيونية. خططت بوردو لتصبح "موفرًا للألم من البداية إلى النهاية" ، من خلال تفرغها إلى السوق لإدمانها على إدمان المواد الأفيونية والأدوية الزائدة من الجرعة الزائدة ، متجهةً إلى طرح هذه الأدوية على الرغم من استمرار الشركة في تسويق المواد الأفيونية التي تسبب الإدمان. أوضحت المواد البحثية الداخلية ببرود المنطق وراء هذه الخطة: "علاج الألم والإدمان ترتبط بشكل طبيعي".

كما يستمر الآلاف من الأميركيين ل جرعة زائدة من المواد الأفيونية سنويا ، سر بوردو بحوث التسويق وتوقع أن مبيعات النالوكسون، المخدرات عكس جرعة زائدة ، و البوبرينورفينوهو دواء يستخدم لعلاج إدمان المواد الأفيونية ، سيزيد بشكل كبير. ومن ثم فإن إدمان أفيونيات المفعول بوردو من شأنه أن يدفع بيع إدمان أفيونيات المفعول وأدوية الجرعة الزائدة للشركة. خططت بوردو حتى لاستهداف المرضى الذين يتناولون بالفعل المواد الأفيونية للشركة والأطباء الذين وصفوا الأفيونيات بشكل مفرط ، وفقا لرفع دعوى قضائية في ماساتشوستس. للحفاظ على الخطة هادئة ، أطلق موظفو بوردو على مخطط "مشروع تانجو".

تنقح Purdue Pharma تاريخ مذهب من الغش الصيدلاني وفقا لدعوى ماساتشوستس ، استخدم بوردو هذا الرسم في مواد الاستراتيجية الداخلية لتوضيح مشروع تانجو. ولاية ماساتشوستس, CC BY-SA

أثارت جرأة مشروع تانجو غضب العديد من المراقبين. لكن بالنظر إلى السياق التاريخي ، يبدو أن الأخبار التي سعى بوردو لتوزيعها على أدوية إدمان المواد الأفيونية مع استمرار بيع المواد الأفيونية أقل إثارة للدهشة. في الواقع ، هناك سابقة تاريخية واضحة لخطة أعمال بوردو. منذ أكثر من قرن من الزمان ، كان بائعي "دواء براءات الاختراع" رائدين في هذه الاستراتيجية خلال وباء إدمان العقاقير المخدرة في الولايات المتحدة.

إدمان الأفيون في العصر المذهب

المواد الأفيونية كانت بعض الأدوية الأكثر شيوعًا في التاريخ الأمريكي حتى القرن 20th. شكلت الحبوب التي تحتوي على الأفيون وحقن المورفين تحت الجلد ولودانوم ، وهو عبارة عن مزيج سائل صالح للشرب من الأفيون والكحول ، نصف أو أكثر من جميع الأدوية الموصوفة في المستشفيات الأمريكية خلال معظم القرن 19th ، وفقا لبحث من قبل المؤرخ جون هارلي وارنر. كانت المواد الأفيونية موجودة أيضًا في عدد لا يحصى من "الأدوية براءات الاختراع، "وصفات طبية بدون وصفة طبية مصنوعة من مكونات سرية ، وغالبًا ما تباع تحت أسماء تجارية جذابة مثل السيدة وينسلو شراب مهدئ. يمكن للأمريكيين الاختيار من بينها 5,000 ماركات أدوية براءات الاختراع التي يتم تسويقها لجميع أنواع الأمراض من 1880s. في 1904 ، قبل بدء الرقابة الفيدرالية مباشرة ، نضجت أدوية براءات الاختراع في صناعة مربحة بشكل مذهل مقدر مبيعات بقيمة 74 مليون دولار سنويًا - ما يعادل حوالي 2.1 مليار دولار اليوم.

وصفات الأفيون التي تغلب عليها العقاقير والأدوية براءات الاختراع غالبا ما تسبب الإدمان. المؤرخ ديفيد ت. كورترايت تشير التقديرات إلى أن معدلات إدمان المواد الأفيونية في الولايات المتحدة ارتفعت إلى 4.59 لكل ألف أمريكي بواسطة 1890s - وهو معدل مرتفع ، على الرغم من أنه كان أقل من معدل الجرعات الزائدة من الأفيونيات المميتة في الآونة الأخيرة سنوات. طور معظم الأفراد الإدمان من خلال الأدوية ، بدلاً من الإدمان على مجموعة متنوعة من الأفيون. ضحايا "عادة" تتقاطع ديموغرافي خطوط ، تشمل ربات البيوت من الطبقة المتوسطة الذين يعانون من آلام الحيض ، وقدامى المحاربين في الحرب الأهلية التي تعاني من البتر وغيرها الكثير بين.

ولكن حتى بالنسبة لأولئك الذين أصبحوا مدمنين على المواد الأفيونية الموصوفة ، فإن الحالة كانت اجتماعية وصم وخطيرة جسديا. كما هو الحال اليوم ، فإن إدمان المواد الأفيونية غالبًا ما يؤدي إلى جرعة زائدة قاتلة ، وإدانة ، وأحيانًا التزام غير إرادي بمصحات عقلية. كطبيب واحد وذكرت إلى مجلس الصحة بولاية أيوا في 1885 ، عاش المدمنون "بحق في جحيم حقيقي".

لتجنب هذه النتائج المخيفة ، كثيرا ما سعى الأمريكيون اليائسون والمدمنون على الأفيون إلى العلاج الطبي لحالتهم.

مذهب العمر يمكن للأمريكيين الاختيار من بين مجموعة من العلاجات لإدمان المواد الأفيونية. يتردد المرضى الأثرياء على عيادات خاصة فخمة ، حيث يمكنهم تلقي علاج المرضى الداخليين لإدمان المواد الأفيونية. الاكثر شعبية كانت معاهد كيلي، التي قدمت للمرضى الحقن في علاج "Bichloride of Gold" ، الذي ابتكره الطبيب ليزلي كيلي.

عشرات من معاهد كيلي نشأت في جميع أنحاء البلد في أواخر القرن 19th ، شهادة على شعبية "علاج الذهب" في Keeley ، والتي قام بتسويقها لإدمان الكحول وإدمان المخدرات. لم تكتمل مدينة Gilded Age الجديدة بدون معهد Keeley. في ال ارتفاع من جنون علاج الذهب ، كان هناك معاهد 118 التي تخدم 500,000 الأميركيين بين 1880 و 1920. حتى الحكومة الفيدرالية كان لديها عقد مع كيلي لتوفير علاج الذهب للمحاربين القدامى المدمنين. على الرغم من أن الحقن في Gold Cure كانت ذات قيمة طبية جوهرية قليلة ، إلا أن المؤرخين يعتقدون أن الاختلاط بالآخرين مع مرضى متشابهين في التفكير في معاهد كيلي ربما ساعد بعض المرضى على التعافي من الإدمان.

تنقح Purdue Pharma تاريخ مذهب من الغش الصيدلاني الإعلان عن مركز Keeley الرئيسي ، في دوايت ، إلينوي ، 1908.

واجه كيلي منافسة شديدة. وشملت العلاجات الشائعة الأخرى لإدمان المواد الأفيونية "علاج" براءات الاختراع و "الترياق" ، والتي كانت أرخص من رعاية المرضى الداخليين. يمكن طلب ذلك بالبريد دون وصفة طبية ، ويتم استهلاكه في خصوصية منزل الشخص بعيدًا عن أعين المتطفلين.

مدفوعًا بارتفاع الطلب ، خلال فترة ذروتها في مطلع القرن 20th ، علاج الإدمان ازدهر في قطاع بملايين الدولارات من صناعة الأدوية براءات الاختراع. قامت عشرات شركات الأدوية بتجميع "علاجاتها" للعملاء الراغبين في إدمان المواد الأفيونية ، والتي قاموا بتسويقها من خلال المنشورات والبطاقات البريدية وإعلانات الصحف والمجلات.

ومن المفارقات أن هذه "العلاجات" لإدمان المواد الأفيونية تحتوي على مواد أفيونية متضمنة في جميع أنحاء العالم تقريبًا ، دون علم العملاء المتفائلين ، الذين تلقوا فائدة علاجية قليلة وفقًا لمعايير اليوم. ولكن في عصر ما قبل التنظيم الفيدرالي للأدوية والمخدرات ، لم تكن هناك ضمانات فعالة لحماية مرضى الإدمان من الاحتيال الطبي.

الاحتيال الدوائي

مثل الكثير من بوردو فارما ، والتي اشتهر تسويق Oxycontin على أنه غير مدمن مما أدى إلى حدوث أزمة المواد الأفيونية ، كما قامت شركات براءات اختراع Gilded Age أيضًا بتسويق علاجات إدمانهم على أنها عملاء غير مدمنين واستهداف وخداع متعمد. من جانبهم ، كان الأطباء في Gilded Age يشككون بشدة في هذه المنتجات ، وكثيراً ما يتهمون أصحابها بالاحتيال في المجلات والصحف الطبية.

أصر صامويل ب. كولينز من لا بورت ، إنديانا ، مخترع "مؤلم الأفيون المضاد" ، وهو أحد العلامات التجارية الأكثر شهرة في تلك الحقبة ، على أن المنتج لم يكن الادمان. ثبت أن كولينز عملية احتيال ، على يد طبيب متشكك من ولاية مين ، أرسل في 1876 عينة من منتج كولينز إلى العديد من الكيميائيين لتحليلها. اختباراتهم وأشار أن ترياق الأفيون غير مؤلم يحتوي على ما يكفي من المورفين لإدمان إدمان الأفيون ، مما يؤجج بالفعل الطلب على منتج كولينز ، بدلاً من علاج الإدمان الأساسي.

على الرغم من الأدلة الغالبة ، ومع ذلك ، ودون أي تنظيم أو رقابة طبية فعالة ، واصل كولينز الاحتيال له لعدة عقود. استراتيجيته التجارية برئاسة مشروع تانجو بوردو من خلال استهداف الأفراد الضعفاء المدمنين على الأفيون.

الإعلان عن Theriaki ، علاج غير مؤلم لعادات الأفيون. المنظر الخارجي لمختبر دكتور كولينز لمضاد الأفيون ، لابورت ، إنديانا. المكتبة الوطنية للطب

بعد عقود من التعرض من قبل الأطباء والصحفيين ، ومع ذلك ، انهارت تجارة علاج إدمان الأفيون خلال عصر التقدمي تحت ضغط عام متزايد وتشريعات اتحادية جديدة. معرض "muckraking" الشهير ، الاحتيال الأمريكي العظيم من قبل الصحفي صموئيل هوبكنز آدمز، انسحبت الستار عن صناعة علاج إدمان الأفيون لملايين القراء المروعين.

رسم هوبكنز صورة قاتمة من علاجات إدمان الأفيون ، والتي وصفها أصحابها بأنها "زبالون" ، حتى أن الجمعية الطبية الأمريكية مدفوع لنشر تقارير آدمز كجزء من حملة الضغط من أجل تنظيم أدوية براءات الاختراع. هذه الاستراتيجية آتت أكلها. على الرغم من عدم وجود حلول مثالية ، فإن قانون الغذاء والدواء النقي من 1906 و قانون ضرائب هاريسون من 1914 ينظم مكونات وبيع أدوية براءات الاختراع والمخدرات ، بما في ذلك أدوية إدمان المواد الأفيونية. ضمنت هذه التدابير في النهاية أن كولينز وكيلي وبائعي أدوية براءات الاختراع لم يعد بإمكانهم أن يفترسوا عملاء مدمنين على الأفيون.

مثل سابقاتها في Gilded Age ، تخطط Big Pharma اليوم بنشاط للاستفادة من العملاء المستضعفين والمدمنين ، حتى أثناء اتخاذ خطوات لضمان استمرار إدمان المواد الأفيونية. أعتقد أن الرقابة المستمرة واليقظة هي وحدها التي يمكن أن تمنع عودة ظهور عصر مذهل طبي ، عصر تستطيع فيه شركات مثل بوردو فارما تصنيع أزمة إدمان وتفرض رسوم على العملاء بسبب "علاجها".

نبذة عن الكاتب

جوناثان س. جونز ، طالب دكتوراه في التاريخ ، جامعة بينغهامتون ، جامعة ولاية نيويورك

هذه المادة ظهرت أصلا على المحادثة

كتب ذات صلة

أنجليزي الأفريكانية عربي الصينية المبسطة) تقاليد صينية) Dutch الفلبينية جيب  الألمانيّة الهندية Indonesian Italian اليابانيّة الكوريّة الملايو اللغة الفارسية البرتغاليّة Russian إسباني السواحيلي Swedish Thai التركية الأردية الفيتنامية

Mighty Natural

Purdue Pharma taps a Gilded Age history of pharmaceutical fraud

Purdue Pharma taps a Gilded Age history of pharmaceutical fraud Collier’s ad, Dec., 1905, after the publication of articles on patent medicine fraud. Wikimedia Commons

Newly unsealed documents from a lawsuit by the state of Massachusetts allege that Purdue Pharma, maker of OxyContin and other addictive opioids, actively sniffed out new, sinister ways to cash in on the opioid crisis.

Despite years of negative press coverage, unwanted attention from regulators, multi-million dollar fines and several major lawsuits, Purdue staff and owners sought to expand the company’s sights beyond its usual array of opioid painkillers. Purdue planned to become an “end-to-end pain provider,” by branching into the market for opioid addiction and overdose medicines, looking to peddle these medicines even while the company continued to aggressively market its addictive opioids. Internal research materials coldly explained the rationale behind this plan: “Pain treatment and addiction are naturally linked.”

As thousands of Americans continue to overdose on opioids annually, Purdue’s secret marketing research predicted that sales of naloxone, the overdose reversal drug, and buprenorphine, a medicine used to treat opioid addiction, would increase exponentially. Addiction to Purdue’s opioids would thus drive the sale of the company’s opioid addiction and overdose medicines. Purdue even planned to target as customers patients already taking the company’s opioids and doctors who prescribed opioids excessively, according to the Massachusetts lawsuit filing. To keep the plan quiet, Purdue staff dubbed the scheme “Project Tango.”

Purdue Pharma taps a Gilded Age history of pharmaceutical fraud According to the Massachusetts lawsuit, Purdue used this graphic in its internal strategy materials to illustrate Project Tango. State of Massachusetts, CC BY-SA

The audacity of Project Tango enraged many observers. But considered in historical context, the news that Purdue sought to peddle opioid addiction medicines while continuing to sell opioids seems less surprising. In fact, there is clear historical precedent for Purdue’s business plan. Over a century ago, “patent medicine” sellers pioneered this strategy during the U.S.’s Gilded Age opiate addiction epidemic.

Opiate addiction in the Gilded Age

Opiates were some of the most commonly prescribed medicines in American history until the 20th century. Pills containing opium, hypodermic morphine injections and laudanum, a drinkable liquid concoction of opium and alcohol, constituted half or more of all medicines prescribed in American hospitals during most of the 19th century, according to research by the historian John Harley Warner. Opiates were also present in countless “patent medicines,” over-the-counter panaceas made of secret ingredients, often sold under catchy brand names like Mrs. Winslow’s Soothing Syrup. Americans could choose from 5,000 brands of patent medicines marketed for all manner of ailments by the 1880s. In 1904, just before federal oversight began, patent medicines had matured into an astonishingly profitable industry, with estimated sales at US$74 million dollars annually – equivalent to about $2.1 billion dollars today.

Opiate-laced prescriptions and patent medicines often caused addiction. The historian David T. Courtwright estimates that opiate addiction rates in the U.S. skyrocketed to 4.59 per thousand Americans by the 1890s – a high rate, although lower than the rate of fatal opioid overdoses in recent years. Most individuals developed addictions through medicines, rather than the infamous smoking variety of opium. Victims of “the habit” cut across demographic lines, encompassing middle-class housewives suffering from menstrual pain, Civil War veterans reeling from amputations and many others in between.

Yet even for those who became addicted to prescription opiates, the condition was socially stigmatized and physically dangerous. Like today, addiction to opiates often led to fatal overdose, condemnation and sometimes even involuntary commitment to mental asylums. As one doctor reported to the Iowa Board of Health in 1885, addicted people lived “truly in a veritable hell.”

To avoid these frightful outcomes, desperate, opiate-addicted Americans frequently sought out medical treatment for their condition.

Gilded Age Americans could choose from a range of therapies for opiate addiction. Wealthy patients frequented plush private clinics, where they could receive inpatient treatment for opiate addiction. The most popular were the Keeley Institutes, which offered patients injections of the “Bichloride of Gold” remedy, invented by the doctor Leslie Keeley.

Scores of Keeley Institutes sprang up around the country in the late 19th century, a testament to the popularity of Keeley’s “Gold Cure,” which he marketed for alcoholism and drug addiction. No up-and-coming Gilded Age city was complete without a Keeley Institute. At the height of the Gold Cure craze, there were 118 institutes serving 500,000 Americans between 1880 and 1920. Even the federal government had a contract with Keeley to provide the Gold Cure to addicted veterans. Although injections of the Gold Cure had little intrinsic medical value, historians believe that socializing with other like-minded patients in the Keeley Institutes may have helped some patients recover from addiction.

Purdue Pharma taps a Gilded Age history of pharmaceutical fraud Advertisement for the main Keeley Center, in Dwight, Illinois, 1908.

Keeley faced stiff competition, however. Other popular therapies for opiate addiction included patent medicine “cures” and “antidotes,” which were cheaper than inpatient care. These could be ordered by mail without a prescription, and consumed in the privacy of one’s home, away from prying eyes.

Fueled by high demand, during its heyday at the turn of the 20th century, addiction cures bloomed into a multimillion-dollar sector of the patent medicine industry. Dozens of pharmaceutical companies peddled their “cures” to willing, opiate-addicted customers, which they marketed through pamphlets, postcards, and newspaper and magazine classifieds.

Ironically, these “cures” for opiate addiction almost universally contained opiates, unbeknownst to hopeful customers, who received little therapeutic benefit by today’s standards. But in an era before federal regulation of medicines and narcotics, there were no effective safeguards to protect addiction patients from medical fraud.

Pharmaceutical fraud

Much like Purdue Pharma, which famously marketed Oxycontin as non-addictive precipitating the opioid crisis, Gilded Age patent medicine companies also fraudulently marketed their addiction treatments as non-addictive, targeting and intentionally deceiving addicted customers. For their part, Gilded Age doctors were deeply skeptical of such products, and they often accused proprietors of fraud in medical journals and newspapers.

Samuel B. Collins of La Porte, Indiana, inventor of the “Painless Opium Antidote,” one of the era’s most popular brands, insisted that his product was not addictive. Collins was proven a fraud, however, by a skeptical Maine doctor, who in 1876 sent off a sample of Collins’ product to several chemists for analysis. Their tests indicated that the Painless Opium Antidote contained enough morphine to perpetuate opiate addiction, actually fueling demand for Collins’s product, rather than curing the underlying addiction.

Despite the overwhelming evidence, however, without any effective medical regulation or oversight, Collins maintained his fraud for decades. His business strategy presaged Purdue’s Project Tango by targeting vulnerable opiate-addicted individuals.

Advertisement for Theriaki, a painless cure for the opium habit. Exterior view of Dr. Collins’ Opium Antidote Laboratory, LaPorte, Indiana. National Library of Medicine

After decades of exposés by doctors and journalists, however, the opiate addiction cure trade collapsed during the Progressive Era under mounting public pressure and new federal legislation. One famous “muckraking” exposé, The Great American Fraud by the journalist Samuel Hopkins Adams, pulled back the curtain on the industry of opiate addiction cures for millions of appalled readers.

Hopkins painted such a scathing portrait of opiate addiction cures, whose proprietors the writer dismissed as “scavengers,” that the American Medical Association paid to disseminate Adams’s reporting as part of a lobbying campaign for the regulation of patent medicines. This strategy paid off. Although far from perfect solutions, the Pure Food and Drug Act of 1906 and the Harrison Narcotics Tax Act of 1914 regulated the ingredients and sale of patent medicines and narcotics, including opiate addiction medicines. These measures ultimately ensured that Collins, Keeley and other patent medicine sellers could no longer prey upon opiate-addicted customers.

Like its Gilded Age predecessors, today’s Big Pharma actively schemes to profit off of vulnerable, addicted customers, even while taking steps to ensure that opioid addiction persists. I believe that only sustained, vigilant oversight can prevent the reemergence of a medical Gilded Age, one in which companies like Purdue Pharma can manufacture an addiction crisis and charge customers for “curing” it.

About The Author

Jonathan S. Jones, PhD Candidate in History, Binghamton University, State University of New York

This Article Originally Appeared On The Conversation

Related Books